Skip to main content

Oregon Multicultural Archives: Internship Opportunities

Opportunities

All internships are completed through OSU's Special Collections and Archives Research Center Internship Program. Internships may be used for course credit.

Past Internships

MLIS Graduate School Internship - The intern worked on a variety of projects to cover the breath and scope of the work done within a special collections and archives.
Karen Tockman, MLIS internship, Winter 2017 

Obo Addy Legacy Project collection - The intern created an inventory of the materials and arrange and describe the collection physically and through a Finding Aid. The collection includes a substantial amount of audio/visual materials, and the intern will be tasked to research the best preservation and migration options for the items. The intern made recommendations regarding exhibit ideas for a planned Spring 2014 exhibition.
Obo Addy Legacy Project collection internship, Summer and Fall 2013

Miracle Theatre Group collection ~ During the Winter and Spring Terms of 2013, the intern completed an inventory of the Miracle Theatre Group’s records; the Miracle Theatre is a Latino/a community based theatre in Portland. The intern attended the Northwest Archivists 2013 Conference in Vancouver, B.C. in May and presented on the project as part of a Theatre Archives roundtable discussion. For more information, see the intern’s blog posts about the project: Miracle Theatre Group
Intern 1 Winter-Spring 2013 and Intern 2 Summer 2013-Spring 2014

St. Philip the Deacon Episcopal Church records ~ In the Spring of 2012 an intern began working with the St. Philip the Deacon Church community to organize and describe its records. The St. Philip the Deacon Church located in Portland, OR, was established in 1911 by Caribbean immigrants of African descent who experienced hostility from the local churches. The congregation grew and became actively involved in assisting the local community especially through civil rights work and education programming. The project included the intern assisting in the planning and implementation of “Parish History Day” – a community outreach event in which we invited the congregation to learn about archiving and preserving personal and family history materials. For more information, see the intern’s blog posts about the project:
St. Philip the Deacon internship, Spring 2012

Create Your Own!

Feel free to contact the OMA Archivist with ideas for potential projects. Internships may include: community outreach, exhibit preparation, collections organization and description, digital projects, historical research, or preservation work.