Skip to main content

Oregon Multicultural Archives: Asian American People and Culture

ASIAN AMERICAN PEOPLE AND CULTURE

Manuscript, Photograph, and Oral History Collections

Oregon Chinese Disinterment Documents: Documents pertaining to the 1948-1949 disinterment of hundreds of Chinese immigrants’ remains from cemeteries throughout Oregon.

IRCO's Asian Family Center:

  • The Immigrant and Refugee Community Organization (IRCO) Asian Family Center (AFC) Records document programs, activities, and events sponsored by the AFC and its partnership with a multitude of organizations in the Portland-Metro area as well as Multnomah and Washington Counties. The collection's finding aid is available online: IRCO Asian Family Center Records, 1981-2014
  • Oral history interviews of staff and board members at Portland's IRCO AFC, an organization that provides culturally specific programing for Portland’s Asian and Pacific Islander communities. The collection's finding aid is available online Asian Family Center Oral History Collection Finding Aid

Japanese American Association of Lane County, Oregon, Oral History Digital Collection: Oral history interviews of Japanese Americans living in Eugene, Oregon and the vicinity. Several include accounts of life in the WWII internment camps. Online Collection Guide

Indian-Americans in Corvallis, Oregon Oral History Collection, 2016: The Indian-Americans in Corvallis, Oregon Oral History Collection is a set of four interviews featuring seven members of the Indian-American community in Corvallis.     

Te May Ching Papers: Personal papers of OSU crop scientist Ching. The collection covers the years 1944–1988. Dr. Ching is a native of China. The collection includes correspondence, research project records, manuscripts of publications, proposals, papers reviewed, graduate teaching and advising materials, professional organization records, reference cards, and materials pertaining to women faculty at OSU, international education and the Chinese Student Organization.

Ava Milam Clark Papers: Personal papers of OSU dean of home economics Ava Milam (1917–1950). Collection includes letters, photographs and other materials pertaining to international students from Japan, China, and other Pacific rim countries, as well as records of Milam's work in China and Japan.

Special Topic: The Japanese American Experience During World War II

The United States War Relocation Authority Reports, 1942-1946: a collection of more than fifty mimeographed reports  detailing the operation of War Relocation Authority (WRA) internment camps used to house Japanese American internees during World War II.

Extension Bulletin Illustrations (P 20)

Extension and Experiment Station Communications (P 120)

  • P120:1234 & 2600 – Barracks-type building formerly part of the Japanese Relocation Center at Tule Lake, California has been moved by Earl W. Mack to his potato farm to be used during the harvest season to hold 10 to 12 workers
  • P120:2362 – Japanese evacuees harvested onion seed in one of Malheur county's big onion seed acreage, 1944
  • P120:2429 – Japanese Americans hoeing beets. About 450 Japanese-Americans from relocation centers were also used in Malheur county this season. They worked mostly for Japanese farmers, though there are some working in the Dale Garrison beet field.
  • P120:2606 – Barracks from Japanese Relocation Center, now furnishing housing for farm labor on Bryant Williams farm. Klamath County, 1947.
  • P120:2608 – House for permanent help, remodeled from former Japanese barracks, on W.M. Kaylor farm near Klamath Falls. House includes four rooms and bath. It measures 20 x 40 feet. 1947.
  • P120:2720 – Japanese-American field worker, Ontario, Oregon, May 1946
  • P120:2721 – Japanese-American workers planting an onion field, Malheur County, May 1946

Oregon Multicultural Communities Research Collection Files

Oregon Multicultural Communities Research Collection (OMCRC):
The OMCRC is an artificial collection containing items of interest about multicultural communities within Oregon State University and to a lesser extent, the city of Corvallis, and the state of Oregon.


Asian Americans in Oregon: Newspaper clippings and article drafts on Japanese-American students at Oregon State College in WWII, their removal from campus, and the 2008 honorary degree ceremony.

Asian Pacific Cultural Center: Information on the opening and operations of the APCC at OSU

Asian Pacific Island American Association (APIAA) of OSU: Leaflet from the early 1990s describing this student organization.

Chinese Students and Scholars Association: Newspaper clippings and brochures pertaining to this OSU student organization.

Ethnic Studies Department: Information on classes offered relevant to Asian Americans offered by the ES Department

Morita, Richard Y.: Extensive biography and vita of Dr. Morita, a long-time Microbiology faculty member at OSU. Dr. Morita is Nisei, and spent time in the Gila Relocation Center during World War II.

World War II: This file includes a copy of an article from the October 1995 Oregon Stater on Japanese-American students at Oregon State College that were sent to internment camps during the war.

OSU's Asian American Community

Minorities in the Barometer Digital Collection, 1960-1979: Articles from The Daily Barometer pertaining to multicultural issues and minorities on campus. All articles are organized in chronological order in full text searchable PDFs. The PDFs are organized by year; each PDF file begins with a Table of Contents listing the article titles and dates for the year.

Asian & Pacific Cultural Center (APCC) Records, 1987-2011 (RG 245): The APCC was established at OSU in 1991 to educate the campus and local community about Asian and Pacific Islander cultures.

  • The collection includes a set of 46 posters and table-top display panels created by the APCC and other Asian and Pacific Islander organizations and clubs at Oregon State; an inventory of the posters is available online.
  • Digitized versions of 8 APCC albums are available online. The albums depict APCC events and activities as well as Oregon State students and staff affiliated with the Center for 1987-2004.

Oregon State University APCC oral history interviews: Five 2014 interviews with APCC student staff members. Be sure to also see the Oregon State University Cultural Centers Oral History Collection, 2013-2015

OSU's Japanese American Students During WWII: Blog post with links to various articles and documents pertaining to the effects of the WWII internment policies and the honorary degrees awarded to students in 2008.

Asia University America Program (P 209):  Photographs document the programs, activities, and participants of the Asia University America Program (AUAP) at OSU. The AUAP albums have been digitized: AUAP Albums 

Azadi Student Publication, 1947-1953: Azadi is the newsletter of the Oregon State College Chapter of the Hindustan Student's Association of America.  The Chapter was established at Oregon State in 1947 to grow understanding between India and the United States and to support students from India attending Oregon State.

Asian and Pacific Islander Student Groups Digital Display: Images and information regarding the clubs on campus that honor and celebrate Asian Pacific Islander cultures.

Oregon State University Collegiate 4-H Club Records, 1929–1985: Includes records of the LABO – 4-H Exchange, an exchange program with Japanese students, 1972–1982.

Student Affairs (RG 102)

Accession 90:32 – Student organizations (pre-1987)
          Chinese Christian Fellowship
          Friends of Japan
          Hui-O-Hawaii
          Indonesian Student Organization
          Japanese Student Organization
          Vietnamese Student Association

Accession 93:074 – Subject files
          Cultural Programming Fund, 1990
          Minority recruiting, 1985–1989

Accession 95:009 – records of the Minority Students Affairs Advisory Council, 1987–88 (includes report on creation of and funding for cultural centers at OSU.)

An oral history interview of Dr. Richard Morita, part of the Voices of Oregon State University Oral History Collection (OH 9).

“Report on the Japanese Situation in Oregon, Investigated for Governor Ben W. Olcott,” August 1920. Valley JV6888 .O7 D2. Also available online from the Oregon State Library.

OSU Historical Collection (P 25)

Gwil Evans (P 82)

  • P82:35 image 589 - Hawaiian freshman hangs leis on dormitory staff, Bob Koehler on left; Oct 14, 1950.
  • P82:36 images 219-220 - Philippine students on home economics broadcast over KOAC; Oct. 14, 1950.
  • P82:36 image 769 - Hawaiian and Alaskan students; Oct. 1949
  • P82:91 image 1637 - Masu Takeda, Japanese student, and Ava B. Milam scholarship winner; Jan. 1954.
  • P82:91 image 1809 - Phi Kappa Phi, a Hawaiian student receives junior honor; Feb. 1955.
  • P82:164, image 2247 Chinese students in forestry at OSC; Dec. 1957

President's Office (P 92)

  • P95:1381 John Byrne and Japanese students, 1993? (5 images)

John Garman (P 95)

Harriet's Collection
2510 – Student Organizations – Hawaiian Club (Hui O Hawaii)