Skip to main content

Oregon Multicultural Archives: African American People and Culture



AFRICAN AMERICAN PEOPLE AND CULTURE

Special Projects

Urban League of Portland Records: The Urban League of Portland (ULPDX) Records document the administration and programs of the League from its founding in Portland, Oregon, in 1945. The Records include correspondence, reports and publications, meeting minutes, financial records, and clippings as well as scrapbooks, photographs, videotapes, and sound recordings. Portions of the collection have been digitized and are available online.

The St. Philip the Deacon Parish Records: In the Spring of 2012 the OMA began collaborating with the church to process its records. St. Philip was established in 1911 to serve the area's African-American community. An OMA intern blogged about her experiences working with the community and the collection: St. Philip Blog Posts. The collection is held at St. Philips in Portland and is not open to the general public at this time. Notably, oral history interviews were conducted with Rev. Alcena Boozer and Carl Deiz and those are available online.

Manuscript Collections

Obo Addy Legacy Project Collection, 1970-2013: This collection consists of records, promotional materials, and various forms of media related to the Homowo African Arts and Cultures organization. Obo Addy’s personal materials include correspondence, promotional materials and photographs. The collection is divided into three sub groups, Obo Addy Materials, Homowo Organizational records and materials, and a separate sub group for the various forms of media. For more information about the work with the collection and the organization, check out the OMA blog posts about the OALP

Oregon African American Railroad Porters Oral History Collection: This collection is made up of thirty individual, multi-part, and group oral history interviews between film maker Michael Grice and African American railroad porters employed in the Portland area. The project website includes brief interviewee biographies and interview summaries, access to the interview audio files, and transcripts of all the interviews.

Harold C. Williams Papers, 1962-2013: The Williams Papers document Williams' community activism, volunteer service, and civic leadership in Portland, Oregon, as well as his immediate and extended family. Harold C. Williams was an activist, volunteer, and leader in the African American community in Portland from the 1960s until his death in 2012. For more information about the work with the collection, check out the MSS Williams OMA blog post

National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) Corvallis Branch Records: This collection documents the early years (1971-1974) of the Corvallis Branch of the NAACP and its activities and programs to address racial discrimination in education, employment, and housing. It includes annual reports, correspondence, resolutions, press releases, and petitions.

Jean Moule Papers, 1984-2011: The Jean Moule Papers document Moule's teaching, research, and writing in the field of multicultural education, especially teacher training. The Papers include publications, course materials, correspondence, newspaper clippings, and photographs. Moule earned a Ph.D. from Oregon State University in 1998 and was a faculty member in the Oregon State University College of Education from 1998 until her retirement in 2011.

Hans Plambeck Papers: Research files generated and collected by Sociology Professor Hans Plambeck that primarily reflect his work on a survey of ethnic groups in Oregon, including African Americans. Plambeck taught at Oregon State University from 1946-1976

Oregon Multicultural Communities Research Collection Files

Oregon Multicultural Communities Research Collection (OMCRC):
The OMCRC is an artificial collection containing items of interest about multicultural communities within Oregon State University and to a lesser extent, the city of Corvallis, and the state of Oregon.


African Americans in Oregon: General information on the experience and status of African Americans in our state. Information pertaining to William Tebeau, first known male African American Gradute of OSU. Pendleton Round Up, 1915, African American man Trick-Riding a mule Gerald W. Williams Collection "On-again off again"

Black Cultural Center (Lonnie B. Harris): Articles on the history and events of the Lonnie B. Harris Black Cultural Center.

Black Graduate Student Association: Meeting minutes, events, and documents relevant to the BGSA

Black History Month: Newspaper articles and flyers pertaining to local events surrounding Black History Month. Also includes a student paper, "Historical Perspectives of Blacks in Oregon."

Black Issues Conference: Flyer to a 1991 conference at OSU.

Black Lives Matter Movement at OSU: Newspaper articles and event fliers relevant to the BLM movement at Oregon State

Black Poets Society: Posters of events for the Black Poets Society

Buildings – Carrie Halsell Residence Hall: Contains information on the residence hall named for OSU’s earliest known African-American graduate.

Buildings -- William Tebeau Residence Hall: Information on the residence hall named for the first African-American male to graduate from OSU.

Halsell Ward, Carrie Beatrice: Biographical information on OSU’s first known African American graduate.

King, Martin Luther, Day: Contains information on OSU and Corvallis activities surrounding the celebration of Martin Luther King, Jr.’s birthday.

Miles College – Book Drive. 1963-1964: Contains information on a book drive initiated by OSU students for Miles College in Birmingham, Alabama. See the OMA Blog post here.

Student Protests: Information pertaining to the 1969 Black Student Union Walkout and the 2014 Solidarity March.

Student Unrest: Pertains to the 1969 walkout of the Black Student Union over the treatment of football player Fred Milton by football coach Dee Andros.

Tebeau, William: Biographical and publication information on William Tebeau

United Black Student Association: posters and other information about events sponsored by this student organization, 1989–1991.

African American History in Oregon

City of Portland - Guide to Historical City Records Related to African Americans: This guide compiles PARC resources related to the African American community in order to facilitate research. You can search the online catalog and access photos photos and documents as well.

OSU's African American Community

Histories of OSU Students of Color Campus Tour Guidebook: The stories selected for this booklet showcase the impact and contributions that students of color have had on the OSU campus.

Minorities in the Barometer Digital Collection, 1960-1989: Articles from The Daily Barometer pertaining to multicultural issues and minorities on campus. All articles are organized in chronological order in full text searchable PDFs. The PDFs are organized by year; each PDF file begins with a Table of Contents listing the article titles and dates for the year.


LONNIE B. HARRIS BLACK CULTURAL CENTER

Lonnie B. Harris Black Cultural Center (BCC) Records, 1966-2011 (RG 244): The BCC was established at OSU in 1975. Four of the BCC albums are available online. The four albums, 1992-2004, are made up of photographs, newspaper clippings, flyers, mission statements, and brochures and they reflect BCC events and members.

OSU Black Cultural Center Historical Records 1974-1984: A digitized version of records which are a combination of a set of documents from the OSU Black Cultural Center 1) a binder with materials dated 1974-1980, and 2) a folder from the Memorial Union Records collection. The original binder and a copy of the binder (a physical display binder accessible to the public) are with the OSU BCC. The original materials within the MU Records, the "Black Cultural Center" folder, is housed in the OSU Special Collections & Archives Research Center, MU Records Accession #2015:003.

Student Affairs (RG 102) Records Pertaining to the BCC: Accession 88:3 – Incidents – BCC (Black Cultural Center) cross burning (between 1972 and 1980)


BLACK STUDENT UNION (BSU) WALKOUT OF 1969

Black Student Union (BSU) Walkout of 1969, Digital Display - In February of 1969 OSU's head football coach Dee Andros told Fred Milton, a black athlete, to shave his facial hair. Milton’s refusal sparked a local controversy and led to the BSU walkout.

The Scab Sheet is a student newspaper published during 1969-1970 in relation to the 1969 Black Student Union Walkout. For more information and a link to the digitized collection, see the "The Scab Sheet: An Underground Newspaper Exposing OSU’s Dark Past" blog post. Also, The Scab Sheet is a part of the Underground Newspapers collection.

Student Affairs (RG 102) Records Pertaining to the 1969 BSU Walkout

  • Accession 83:10 – Black Student Union (file), 1967–1972
  • Accession 87:11 – Policy/historical correspondence, black students-athletic controversy, winter 1969
  • Accession 90:25 – Milton/athletic department dispute, 1969

1996 STUDENT BOYCOTT AND MARCH

Beaver Yearbook, 1996, Volume 90, pages 50-51

The Daily Barometer, March 1996

1996 Student Boycott and March video

RG 172 Affirmative Action Records: Box 1 Subject Files: Boycott, 1996 AND Box 5: Subject Files: Minority Students: Boycott, 1995-1997


The Oregon Anti-Apartheid Scrapbook is made up of newspaper clippings assembled by OSU history department faculty member Ed Ferguson. The scrapbook documents the protest and educational campaign led by the OSU African Students Association (ASA) in response to wrestling coach Dale Thomas’ association with the South African wrestling community. The scrapbook is available online: digitized scrapbook

OSU Men's Basketball Team, Desegregation History

  • "Glory Road and the Desegregation of College Basketball: the Untold Story at Oregon State University" - a panel presentation hosted in the Spring of 2011 with guests: Norm Monroe, first black walk-on player during the 1960-1961 season; Charlie White, first black player recruited on scholarship and later assistant to the freshman coach, 1964-1967; Paul Valenti, OSU Basketball Head Coach, 1964-1970; Craig Robinson, OSU Basketball Head Coach, 2009-present; Dr. Larry Griggs, Director of the Educational Opportunities Program, 1985-2008. For more information and a link to a video recording of the event, see the "Basketball Desegregation Event" blog post
  • Norm Monroe: Oral history interview of the first black walk-on player during the 1960-1961 season
  • Charlie White: Oral history interview of the first black player recruited on scholarship and later assistant to the freshman coach, 1964-1967

OSU Men's Football Team, Desegregation History:"Football Desegregation Event" blog post

  • "Pioneers of Change: Black Football Players at OSU from 1951-Present" ~ a collobrative event between the OMA, the Oregon Historical Society, and OSU Athletics. The event featured various speakers including: football historian Dr. Michael Oriard, author Herman Brame, OSU Sociology Professor Dr. Dwaine Plaza, and OSU student athlete Evan Bany, along with featured guests Earnel Durden, OSU football player 1956-1958 and Ken Simonton, OSU football player 1998-2001.
  • Oral History Interview - Earnel Durden, one of the first black football players at OSU during the 1950s.

Corvallis College Benefit Broadside – The Corvallis College Benefit Broadside publicizes a program of vaudeville performances, music, and a blackface minstrel act on women’s rights presented on December 31, 1859 as a benefit for Corvallis College.

Associated Students of OSU (ASOSU), 1917–2006 (RG 11) The Associated Students of OSU Records document the administration of student government and its interaction with other campus organizations, offices, and bodies primarily for the 1960s through the 1990s.

President’s Office (RG 13)

  • Subgroup 13 (Jensen and Young), series 1 – Black Student Union, 1968–69
  • Subgroup 17 (Risser) – general file pertaining to the Oregon Assembly for Black Affairs, 1996

Memorial Union (RG 99)

  • Accession 2005:035 – Includes a student paper on the involvement of African-American students in OSU student activities.

Student Affairs (RG 102)

  • Accession 83:10 – Black Student Union (file), 1967–1972
  • Accession 87:11 – Policy/historical correspondence, black students-athletic controversy, winter 1969
  • Accession 88:3 – Incidents – BCC (Black Cultural Center) cross burning (between 1972 and 1980)
  • Accession 90:25 – Milton/athletic department dispute, 1969
  • Accession 2003:107 – Includes records of the Martin Luther King, Jr., Commission

University Housing and Dining Services (RG 145)

  • Accession 2009:110 – Records pertaining to the naming of Carrie Halsell Hall, named for OSU’s first African American graduate.

News and Communication Services Photographs (P 57)

  • P57:2280–2300 – Black Student Union speakers, ca. 1969
  • P57:2301–2315 & 2354–2362 – Black Student Union protest and walkout, 1969
  • P57:2546–2552 – Dee Andros at Black Student Union (BSU) rally, 1969
  • P57:3388–3400 – Black Student Union (BSU) in the MU, ca. 1969
  • P57:3417–3420 – Black Student Union (BSU) speakers, ca. 1969
  • P57:5270 – Black Cultural Center opening, spring 1975

University Publications Photographs (P 94)
Accession 2004:036
          (box 1) – Diversity – Images of African American students on campus, sorority
          (box 2) – Black cultural center Thanksgiving, Nov. 22, 1987

John Horner Photograph Collection (P 100)

P100:68 & 87 – Louis Southworth, early African American resident of Corvallis. See the "Best of the Archives" digital collection for an online version of P100:87.

Extension and Experiment Station Communications Photographs (P 120)

P120:2594 – African-American group working a bean field near Scappoose, 1947.