Skip to main content

MRKT 396 Fundamentals of Marketing Research

Market Analysis Tools


Reference USA. Another source of business and consumer research, which is available at the Corvallis-Benton County Public Library, is Reference USA. This database is especially useful for small business owners/entrepreneurs and for job seekers. (OSU does not subscribe but students can get a free public library card, even if you don't reside in Benton County.)

Market analysis can be very challenging. Not all the information you need is going to be publicly available, which is precisely why you also need to conduct primary research for your projects. Sometimes you'll have to extrapolate information from different sources to get the information you need. Market research reports created by for-profit companies are usually much too expensive for a student to afford and impossible for a library to obtain. You will need to get creative!

Library Research: Company & Industry Information

Specialty Databases

SimplyMap

The staff at SimplyMap have created several short video tutorials to help you use the database more efficiently.

Map Tutorial Video
Business Points Tutorial
Report Tutorial Video
Ring Study Tutorial
Ranking Report Tutorial
Applying Data Filters
Mapping Demographic Data
Adding Locations Tutorial

NAICS Codes

NAICS Lookup from the U.S. Census Bureau

What is NAICS? The North American Industry Classification System or NAICS is a federal classification system used by Canada, Mexico, and the United States to classify business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data relating to the business economy.

Using the NAICS code to find distributors and manufacturers?  If the NAICS code begins with a 3 or 4 you can find more information (top manufacturers, states where they are located, etc) in the volume of three books titled "Manufacturing & Distribution U.S.A" which can be found online. Click on "Connect to this title online".

Demographics

To construct a successful business or marketing plan, it is important to know your audience. Demographic tools are a good way to discover something about the people and the communities you plan to market to.

Here are several online tools to help you.

Statistical Abstract of the United States (Proquest) A comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Tables may be downloaded as Excel or PDF files.

American FactFinder: Data from the U.S. Census Bureau. Includes population, housing, and economic information. (Step-by-step LibGuide for how to use American FactFinder: http://guides.library.oregonstate.edu/AmericanFactFinder)

 

 

State Master: Database of facts about states. When viewing results, look at the bottom of the page to find the source. You may need to visit the source to view the most up-to-date information.

Oregon Explorer: Rural Communities Explorer: Information compiled and updated by faculty and staff at Oregon State University. Includes online information about Oregon communities (including Portland) that can't be found anywhere else.

AMA Citation Guide

American Marketing Association Reference Style List PDF.

Survey Software: Qualtrics

Qualtrics login page: http://oregonstate.edu/main/online-services/qualtrics

OSU provides a campus-wide license for the Qualtrics survey system that is available to all faculty, staff and students. Qualtrics is an industry leading web-based survey system that offers a robust capability for building and distributing surveys and supports sophisticated data analysis tools.