This is the "Quick Start" page of the "WR 411/511: The Teaching of Writing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

WR 411/511: The Teaching of Writing  

Last Updated: Oct 3, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.oregonstate.edu/course-guide/486-WR411-511 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Quick Start Print Page
  Search: 
 

Recommended Databases

  • ERIC (EBSCOhost)  Icon
    Index to research articles, government and independent reports and conference papers covering all areas of education at all levels.
    Coverage Dates: 1966 - present
  • Education Research Complete  Icon
    Education journals and books.
    Coverage Dates: - Varies by title
  • Linguistic and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)  Icon
    The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
    Coverage Dates: 1973 - present
  • CompPile  Icon
    Publications in post-secondary composition, rhetoric, technical writing, ESL and discourse studies. 1939-present
    Coverage Dates: 1939 - present
  • MLA International Bibliography  Icon
    Books, articles, and dissertations on rhetoric and writing and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature.
    Coverage Dates: 1926 - present
  • Academic Search Premier  Icon
    Magazine and journal articles. Not as comprehensive as MLA and other databases.
    Coverage Dates: 1975 - present
  • Project Muse  Icon
    Launched in 1995 by the Johns Hopkins University Press in collaboration with the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at John Hopkins University, Project MUSE is an interdisciplinary collection of high quality, peer reviewed journals.

    Concurrent Users: unlimited
    Coverage Dates: - Varies by journal
  • Google Scholar  Icon
    Uses the Google search engine to search for scholarly materials from around the world such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports. Google Scholar searches a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities. Some articles are available in full-text through links to OSU's journal subscriptions.

    You can set up Google Scholar so it checks to see if we have a journal article here. Go to Google Scholar preferences for instructions.


    Coverage Dates: coverage range - unknown
  • Web of Science  Icon
    The web version of Science Citation Index (SCI) and Social Science Citation Index (SSCI). The Web of Science accesses a multidisciplinary database of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. The databases are indexed so you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.
    Science Citation Index 1970-present
    Social Science Citation Index 1970-present

    Concurrent Users: unlimited
    Coverage Dates: 1970 - present
 

Scholarly Journals in Rhetoric and Writing

College Composition and Communication - Online from 2/1/1990-present; Print,  v.22 (1971-present) PE1001.C6

College English - Print, v.1 (1939)-present,  PE1.C6

Composition Studies - Online from 3/1/2004-present; Print, v. 34 (20060-v 37 (2009), PE1404 .C6256 & online

Computers and Composition -  Online from 1/1/1995-present; Print, v. 16 (1999) - v. 22 (2005) LB1576.7 .C61

English Journal - Online from 1/1/1986-present; Print, v.31 (1942-present), PE1.E581

JAC: A Journal of Composition Theory - Some issues  available online; Print v.15 (1995- 2008), PE1001 .J681

Journal of Basic Writing - Print, v. 9 (1990-2009), PE1404.J68

Language Arts - Print, v.52 (1975-present), L11.E5

Oregon English Journal - Print, v. 13 (1991-present), LB1576 .O755

Research in the Teaching of English - Print, v.1 (1967-present), PE1065.R4

Teaching English in the Two-Year College - Online from 2/1/1996-present; Print, v.29 (2001-present),  PE1065.T4

TESOL Quarterly - Online from 1/1/1996-present; Print. v.1 (1967-present), PE1001.T3

Voices from the Middle - Online from 2/1/1995-present; Print, v.31 (2006-present), LB1631 .V65

Written Communication - Online from 1999-present; Print, v. 8 (1991-present), P211.W737

 

   
 

Finding Books: An Overview

OSU Libraries Catalog
The OSU catalog lists all the books held in the OSU Libraries.

Summit
The Summit catalog lists books at other regional libraries that can be retrieved for you and delivered within 3-5 business days, free of charge. If the OSU Libraries do not own an item, use Summit.

WorldCat
WorldCat lists books that are available at other libraries in the United States, and sometimes in other countries. If you find a book you want, and it is not listed in the OSU Libraries catalog or the Summit catalog, you can request the book by clicking on the Request from Interlibrary Loan button in the Summit/WorldCat catalog. This service usually takes 2-3 weeks.

Other Options: Google Book Search searches within indexes and texts of books. How much of the book you see depends on the copyright status, and on how much of their copyrighted work that authors and publishers who participate in the program will allow. For many items you can click on "Find this book in a library" to see if OSU owns a copy.This is not a complete catalog, so please check OSU and Summit catalogs, too.

 

Borrowing from Other Libraries

Books:

First see if a book is available through Summit. If it's not, request it through Interlibrary Loan.

Articles in journals:

Request through Interlibrary Loan.  Articles are delivered electronically, so the turnaround time is often 24 hours or less but may take up to 5 working days. The first time you use Interlibrary Loan, you'll have to complete a registration form.

 

Instructor

MLA Style

Cite your sources using the MLA Handbook, 7th edition.

There is a copy of the MLA Handbook at the Information Desk in the Valley Library and there are copies in the colelction you can check out at LB2369 .G53 2009 (5th floor).

Many of the databases provide citation assistance. Take a look for the icon or link to "Cite this article" or "Choose a bibliographic style." These sometimes only show up when you go to print, save, or email the article, and different databases use different terminology.

Always check your references for accuracy! Database citation "machines," while a great help, often get the little things wrong, so review the citation before you add it to your bibliography.

There are some online sources to help you:

 

Smart searching

When searching in catalogs and databases:

  • Be creative in the words you use; if one doesn't work, try something else. Think of words with related meaning, such as natural resource management or restoration or conservation
  • Begin with keywords, and use the subjects found in the articles that come up to find more information
  • Use quotation marks around phrases, so they won't be searched as individual words.
  • Use advanced search features in catalogs and databases to limit by date, language, type of article, etc

For more in-depth information about developing advanced search strategies, check out a tutorial from Purdue University at http://gemini.lib.purdue.edu/core/files/strategies0.html

 

Keeping Up and Managing Your Research

Learn how to keep up with new information on your topic by:

  • setting up research alerts (journal table of contents and/or database search alerts)
  • setting up RSS feeds and feedreaders
  • reading or writing blogs

Tips and techniques are on the Keeping current with research guide.

Librarian

Profile Image
Stefanie Buck
Contact Info
Office Hours: By Appointment (Please email or call 541-737-7273)
Office Location: The Valley Library
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip