Skip to main content

WR 214: Writing in Business

Getting Started with 1Search

It can be challenging to know where to start your research. 1Search is the library search engine designed to give you that help. It helps you discover online articles, books, documents, videos and more.

Follow this link to the Library DIY page, Getting started with 1Search, for more information.

(Note: While very useful for finding books and articles, be aware that a lot of business research data will NOT be found with this tool--check out the Guide for Business to find more library and internet resources available to you.)

Information Literacy

In Writing 214 you will learn about writing in the workplace, which includes resumes, letters, reports, and memos.  

You'll need to define your task, consider your research strategies, locate and access information, use the information, synthesize what you've learned, and finally evaluate your final product. 

When you graduate from OSU you are expected to have the following Undergraduate Information Literacy Competencies

Free Online Demographic Resources

In business, it is important to know your audience. Demographic tools are a good way to discover something about the people and the communities you plan to market to--here are several freely available online tools to help you.

 

 

American FactFinder: Data from the U.S. census including Puerto Rico and island areas. Includes population, housing, and economic information. (Step-by-step LibGuide for how to use American FactFinder: http://guides.library.oregonstate.edu/AmericanFactFinder)

State Master: Database of facts about states. When viewing results, look at the bottom of the page to find the source. You may need to visit the source to view the most up-to-date information.

WR 214 - Articles and Reports

Set Up Your Google Scholar Preferences

You can set up Google Scholar so it will search in OSU's databases for your article (so you won't have to pay extra to someone to access it).

Step 1:  To make Google Scholar talk to the OSU Libraries collection, go to the Settings link, located on the top right corner of the page:

Google Scholar Settings

Step 2:  On the left-hand side of the Scholar Settings page, choose Library links:

Step 3:  Next either search for Oregon State University in the search box or simply use the checkbox next to Oregon State University (NOT Oregon State University Libraries!)

Google Scholar Library links

Find Non-Profit Information

Foundation Directory Online - a suite of databases from the Foundation Center, giving access to an unprecedented wealth of information on grant-makers and their grants. Nine databases are available, including: a database of over 108,000 foundations, corporate giving programs, and grant-making public charities in the U.S.; a database of over 3 million recently awarded grants; and a keyword-searchable database of over 1 million recently filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF (which provides the public with financial information about a tax-exempt, nonprofit organization).

Check if the non-profit you are interested in has a webpage. Start there and call their office. An annual report can often provide you with helpful information about their organization.

Citing Your Sources

For this assignment you can cite your sources using MLA style.

Printable MLA guide (from our librarians in Bend).

An online guide from Purdue. 

Citation Machine (choose MLA on the left). 

APA Style & Tutorial

The newest edition of the APA is Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Sixth Edition, 2009.  Purdue has a useful guide for writing and citing in APA style: Purdue OWL APA

APA has a tutorial for the new edition: APA 6th Edition Tutorial

Click on a record in an EBSCO databases and one of the icons at  the top of the page shows the citation for the record.  You can also email the record in a selected citation format. Be sure to check your citations carefully!

LaTeX

LaTeX is a high-quality typesetting system; it includes features designed for the production of technical and scientific documentation. LaTeX is the de facto standard for the communication and publication of scientific documents. LaTeX is available as free software.

Resume Writing Help

OSU Career Services has several online seminar and webinar pages on writing resumes (http://career.oregonstate.edu/students/online-seminars-webinars)

Can You Pass the 10 Second Rule?

Learn how to grab the employer’s interest in 10 seconds! 

Presenter: Lea McLeod, Degrees in Transition

10 Tips to Building a Perfect Resume

Writing a stellar resume can be challenging. These 10 tips can help you make it one more step to perfect!
Presenter: Nancy Hawkins, Trimble Navigation Limited

Creating a Stand-Out Resume

Discover how you can create a resume that helps you market your message and stand out in a pool of applicants.
Presenter: Doug Rice - Enterprise

WEBINAR - How to Write a Killer Resume - Alumni Career Webinar Series 

Learn to write a killer resume plus career management strategies that can change the trajectory of your career forever. You will learn how to build a resume that gets more interviews and prepares you to ace those interviews.
Presenter: Martin Yate CPC, NY Times bestseller