This course page is for students enrolled in Maternal and Child Health, a course which covers women’s reproductive health and health of children, stressing causation, management, and prevention of public health problems
Last Updated: Aug 26, 2013
The most common way to search for journal articles is to use a bibliographic database. Bibliographic databases contain citation information for journal articles, technical reports, conference proceedings, etc. A database may also have an abstract of the article, as well as keywords that describe the article. Because databases cover different content, you may have to search multiple databases for a comprehensive search.
- Go to the Library home page and click on Databases(under Find It). This will take you to an alphabetical list of all our databases.
- To see a list of databases recommended for a specific discipline, use the Filter drop-down on the database page. Select a general topic area from the drop-down and click Search.
- Medline (EBSCOhost)
MEDLINE is produced by the National Library of Medicine and is the largest biomedical literature database. Includes over 18 million citations to articles related to all aspects of health and medicine and is international in scope.
Coverage Dates: 1950 - present
- Social Sciences Citation Index (ISI Web of Science)
The Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines. They also cover individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,300 of the world's leading science and technology journals. Coverage is from 1970-present.
Coverage Dates: 1970 - present
- Sociological Abstracts
Index to articles from journals in sociology, social work and other social sciences.
Abstracts and index: 1963-present
Coverage Dates: 1963 - present
- Women's Studies International
Women’s Studies International, produced by NISC, covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. This database supports research and curriculum development in the areas of women studies, sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented.
Coverage Dates: 1972 - present
- Google Scholar
Uses the Google search engine to search for scholarly materials from around the world such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports. Google Scholar searches a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities. Some articles are available in full-text through links to OSU's journal subscriptions.
Coverage Dates: coverage range - unknown
You can customize Google Scholar to show you links to articles through OSU Libraries. Go to the "Gear" icon in the upper right corner of the Google Scholar page. Select and set your Scholar Preferences by entering Oregon State University in the Library Links field and choosing the "Oregon State University Libraries - Find it at OSU" option.
Interlibrary Loan is a free service that allows you to get journal articles that are not at OSU Libraries. To use this service, log in with your ONID username and password and fill out a request form.
You will receive an email when your article has arrived. Please allow at least one week for your article(s) to arrive.
Combine terms using "AND" or "OR"
AND narrows your search (fewer results);
OR broadens your search (more results) - use between synonyms
For more successful searches:
- Generate synonyms for keywords before you begin searching. Having a list of synonyms will help you if any of your keywords do not retrieve many results.
- Look at the subject headings that are used in the database records you've retrieved. These subject headings may lead you to keywords that you had not considered.
Locating articles: Once you find your citation, you will need to locate the journal to read the article. For some citations, you will see pdf icons or html links that allow you to directly access the full-text articles online. For others, click on the button to see if OSU subscribes to the electronic or the paper copy of the journal.
This will open a new window and will display a link to full-text when available. If full-text is not available, click the "Submit a request" link and OSU Libraries will get the articles for you as a pdf file.
You can also click the "check the library catalog" link to see if we have the paper version of the journal you need (NOTE: check to make sure we have the specific year/volume/issue you need ).