This is the "Resources" page of the "HC 407: Inventions of Altered States" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HC 407: Inventions of Altered States  

Library sources for HC 407
Last Updated: Jan 2, 2015 URL: http://guides.library.oregonstate.edu/course-guide/3246-HC407 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Selected Web Sites

  • Erowid
    Erowid is a member-supported organization providing access to reliable, non-judgmental information about psychoactive plants, chemicals, and related issues. We work with academic, medical, and experiential experts to develop and publish new resources, as well as to improve and increase access to already existing resources.
  • Drug Enforcement Administration
    See the publications link or in focus section for DEA drug fact sheets and other information.
  • Multidisciplinary Association for Psychedelic Drugs
    See the resources drop down menu > Psychedelic Bibliography for information about psychedelic drugs.
  • Drugs and Human Performance Fact Sheets
    From the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. Provides information on synonyms, source, chemical composition, effects and side effects.
  • Controlled Substance Schedules
    Lists substances which were controlled in 1970 when the law was enacted.
 

Reference Sources

Merck Index
An encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals. Good place to get the chemical composition of a drug.

Martindale: The complete Drug Reference
v. A. Monographs on drugs and ancillary substances -- v. B. Preparations ; Directory of manufacturers ; Multilingual pharmaceutical terms.

Dictionary of Drugs: Chemical data, structures, and bibliographies
Provides data on drugs in use or in late development world wide. Also includes compounds of pharmacological interest. Data includes chemical name, trade name, molecular formula and use

Drugs: Synonyms and properties
An international guide to 10,000 drugs

Cultural Encyclopedia of LSD
This volume documents the influence of LSD on myriad aspects of culture, from psychiatry, religion, philosophy, arts, entertainment and sports, to commerce, science, politics and espionage.

Pharmacology and abuse of cocaine, amphetamines, ecstasy and related designer drugs (Ebooks)
A comprehensive review on their mode of action, treatment of abuse and intoxication.

UXL encyclopedia of drugs & addictive substances
v. 1. 2C-B (nexus) to benzylpiperazine/trifluoromethyl-phenylpiperazine -- v. 2. Caffeine to diuretics -- v. 3. Ecstasy to LSD (lysergic acid diethylamide) -- v. 4. Marijuana to nitrous oxide -- v. 5. Opium to tranquilizers

Encyclopedia of drugs, alcohol & addictive behavior (Ebook)
Explores the social, medical, legal and political issues related to drugs and alcohol and associated behaviors. Includes emerging topics and developments in the many fields of addiction studies.

Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
A general source. This does not contain a great deal of information about hallucinogens but has some information about diagnosis and treatment.

Addiction: A Reference Encyclopedia (Ebook)
Provides answers to many questions about addiction and addictive behaviors of all kinds, including drugs, alcohol, gambling, sex, Internet usage, and more.

Hallucinogens : a forensic drug handbook
ch. 1. History of the psychedelic experience -- ch. 2. Occurrences and forms of the hallucinogens -- ch. 3. Basic pharmacology and effects -- ch. 4. Methods of illicit manufacture -- ch. 5. Analysis of the hallucinogens

Hallucinogens and dissociative drugs : including LSD, PCP, ketamine, dextromethorphan. [electronic source]
National Institute on Drug Abuse research report. Offers the latest research findings on hallucinogens and dissociative drugs, describing what they are, how they are abused, and basic facts about different drugs within this classification of drugs.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip