Checking to see if a journal is peer reviewed just got A LOT easier. When you look up a journal title in Ulrichsweb.com the description will tell you if it is "refereed" and that is another way of saying that articles in that journal undergo "peer review." We have access to this resource electronically via the link below
You use the keywords from your research topic to search for journal articles on a topic - usually in a database.
Start your searches with broad searches (2-3 keywords, not too specific) in a general database like 1Search or Google Scholar. Google Scholar is simple to search in, but it does take some practice to learn how to get articles that are not freely available and to make sure you are choosing the best scholarly articles. <Learn More>
If your topic is more specialized, you may want to search in an online database. Article databases are available through the library for almost every topic, from Anthropology to Zoology. Use the database subject filter to choose a database that matches your topic. <Learn More>
Locating articles: Once you find your citation, you will need to locate the journal to read the article. Some citations will have the full-text of the article available online. For others, click on the FindIt@OSU button to see if OSU subscribes to the electronic or the paper copy of the journal.
FindIt@OSU will open a new window and will display a link to full-text when available. If not, request the article from Interlibrary Loan: http://osulibrary.orst.edu/ill/.
A good place to start when you are searching for articles is one of the library online databases. The library subscribes to many databases which are like indexes to different journals, magazines and newspapers. You can search for articles by topic or, if you already know the information, by author or title. Many of the databases have the full text of the article available so you can just download or print a copy.
The most effective way to search the online databases is to enter terms or keywords that effectively describe your topic.
If you have an article citation and want to find that specific article, you can find it several ways.
OSU Libraries subscribes to over 20,000 electronic journals (e-journals). It's easiest to search the e-journals if you have a specific journal or citation to locate. Always note the date range available for each journal subscription.
Remember that if we don't have a journal online, we can still get a copy of an article for you via Interlibrary Loan.
With Google Scholar you can search broadly (across several disciplines) with one search. You can use Google Scholar to find peer-reviewed articles, but you will also find pre-print copies of articles, conference papers, white papers, patents, legal opinions and more.
When searching in catalogs and databases:
For more in-depth information about developing advanced search strategies, check out a tutorial from Purdue University at http://gemini.lib.purdue.edu/core/files/strategies0.html