This is the "Food History Research" page of the "HST 416/516: Food in World History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HST 416/516: Food in World History  

Course page for Anita Guerrini's fall 416/516 class on Food in World History.
Last Updated: Sep 17, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.oregonstate.edu/course-guide/3076-HST416-516 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Food History Research Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Food History Research: Library

You can search the online databases by subject: use the filter by subject to see databases specifically related to the broad category of “food."

  • HST & HSTS 
  • Sociology, Anthropology, Ethnic Studies 
  • Agriculture, Food and Nutrition 
  • Newspapers, Statistical Resources 

Need some examples?  

  • Food Science and Technology Abstracts (FSTA): Abstracts and index: 1969-present: Includes citations and abstracts of journal articles, research papers, conference proceedings and other materials in all areas of food science, including food engineering, microbiology, packaging, technology and toxicology. Citations to materials on food laws, regulations and patents are also included. 
  • Sometimes you’ll find databases of e-journals with articles, but other times you’ll find source citations for books that have published primary sources (example list = “Countries and Their Cultures” and reproductions = “Family in Society: Social Issues Primary Sources Collection, 2007”) or encyclopedias (example “Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics” search for “food technology and science” *note bibliography and “View other articles linked to these index terms” at the bottom of the article or “Encyclopedia of World Cultures” divided by name of culture).
Also look at the Farm Portal and Rural Communities Explorer for data related to Oregon.
 

Food History: archival research

In our archives, make sure to look at these collections:

For archival collections in our region, search the Northwest Digital Archives, an online database of collection guides. 
  • Do a search for "food" and see what you find!
  • You can refine your search to limit to certain repositories or NWDA category type (hint: these are like the subject terms in a catalog record). 
 

Feedback Survey

Your input is important! Please fill out this survey to give me feedback on this session. 

http://bit.ly/Food_History_Survey

 

 

Food History Research: Online

Want to do some reearching on your own? You'll find fabulous examples in cookbook and menu archives online, as well as many in Google books. 

  • Other, more anecdotal sites are also only a click away. 
    • What do you know about the history of Ceviche? Or the tale behind Frogmore Stew? Or the story of England’s tea time? The History and Legends of Favorite Foods site will give you a few details—and the opportunity to share your own bits of food wisdom. 
    • Have you ever thought about what foods the Vikings ate? How Thomas Jefferson made his ice cream? What the pioneers cooked along the Oregon Trail? Or who invented the potato chip…and why? Take a trip to the Food Timeline site! As the site says, “food history presents a fascinating buffet of popular lore and contradictory facts.” Explore and learn how the foods we eat have changed and evolved to their present version.  
    • You can also click around to learn more about the Slow Food Movement and the US Ark of Taste
    • The Michigan State University Library and the MSU Museum have partnered to create an online collection of some of the most influential and important American cookbooks from the late 18th to early 20th century called Feeding America: The Historic American Cookbook Project. Digital images of the pages of each cookbook are available as well as full-text transcriptions and the ability to search within the books, across the collection, in order to find specific information.
 

Food in Corvallis

But what if you want more about Corvallis and OSU? Yes, there are even more resources to learn more about our community!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip