This is the "Quick Links" page of the "PS 477/577: International Environmental Politics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

PS 477/577: International Environmental Politics  

Resources for the PS 477/577 final paper
Last Updated: Aug 26, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.oregonstate.edu/course-guide/2371-PS477-577 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Quick Links Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Country Information

Background information for specific countries can be found in a variety of places online. Recommnded are: the CIA World Factbook, Background Notes from the U.S. State Department, Country Studies from Library of Congress, and BBC News Country Profiles.

Other suggested resources:  Foreign Governments created at Northwestern University is a quick guide to departments and agencies of foreign governments. Foreign Governments Resources from University of Colorado at Boulder Libraries are guides arranged by subject.

Specialized websites often have country information specifically related to their subjects, such as IMF Country Information (economic and monetary), FAO Country Profiles (food and agriculture), UNICEF Information by Country (issues affecting children), and the World Health Organization: Countries (public health issues).

Environment and geography sites include EarthTrends which provides country profiles on various topics related to environmental themes.

More information on researching country information can be found on the Government Information Research Guide on the State, International tab.

 

Treaties and International Cooperation

U.S. Treaties:

For pending or recent U.S. treaties, consult Senate, House and Treaty Documents from GPO Access, or Treaty Actions (U.S. Dept. of State).

Treaties in Force Online: primary index to U.S. treaties, issued annually. Latest issue online; also in print since 1955, JX235.9 .A2.

International treaties and agreements:

United Nations Treaty Collection (best viewed in IE);

United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) -  links to many environmental programs, secretariats and treaties

International Environmental Agreements (IEA) Database Project - developed with assistance of the University of Oregon, the National Science Foundation and the American Philosophical Society

European Union Policy areas - Environment

Center for International Environmental Law (CIEL) - a nonprofit organization working to use international law and institutions to protect the environment.


 

Literature Review

For information on how to perform a literature review, consider the following resources:

American University Library Literature Review Tutorial: http://www.library.american.edu/Help/tutorials/lit_review/index.html

Write a Literature Review: http://library.ucsc.edu/help/howto/write-a-literature-review

 

 

 

Finding Books

1. Start with OSU Libraries Catalog for books at Valley Library and OSU's other libraries. 2. Next try Summit Catalog to request items from other Northwest academic libraries (indicated as Held by: Summit). Deliver to OSU within 3-4 days. 3. Finally, If Summit doesn't have it we'll find a library that does-just click the Request from Interlibrary Loan button.

Other Options: Google Book Search searches within indexes and texts of books. How much of the book you see depends on the copyright status, and on how much of their copyrighted work that authors and publishers who participate in the program will allow. For many items you can click on "Find this book in a library" to see if OSU owns a copy.This is not a complete catalog, so please check OSU and Summit catalogs, too.

Environmental Issues articles

You may be able to find all the appropriate articles you need in a general database such as Academic Search Premier or Academic One File. But you also may find them in one of the various  Environmental Sciences databases. Here are a few suggestions.

Environmental Issues: Essential Primary Sources  -  an online reference work from the Gale Virtual Reference Library

  • AGRICOLA (EBSCOhost)  Icon
    Bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Links to over 300 journals in Academic Search Premier.
    Coverage Dates: 1970 - present
  • Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality (part of ASFA and ESPM)  Icon
    Devoted exclusively to research and policy on the contamination of oceans, seas, lakes, rivers, and estuaries.
    Coverage Dates: 1990 - present
  • Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management (ESPM)  Icon
    Comprehensive, multi-disciplinary index to research articles from all fields in the environmental sciences. Indexes U.S. government environmental impact statements.
    Coverage Dates: 1967 - present
  • Ecology Abstracts (part of ESPM)  Icon
    Current ecology research across a wide range of disciplines, reflecting recent advances in light of growing evidence regarding global environmental change and destruction.
    Coverage Dates: 1982 - present
  • Pollution Abstracts (part of ESPM)  Icon
    Combines information on scientific research and government policies.
    Coverage Dates: 1981 - present
  • Environmental Studies and Policy Collection  Icon
    Coverage of environmental issues and policies, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, and corporate interests.
    Coverage Dates: 1980 - present
  • GreenFILE  Icon
    Scholarly and popular articles and government reports on agriculture, education, law, health, and technology about positive and negative impacts of humanity on the environment.
    Coverage Dates: mid-1960's - present

Political Science articles

CQ Weekly - Congressional Quarterly's magazine on government, commerce, and politics. Searchable indexes. (Browse votes by topic might be useful too!)

 

Citation Styles

Style Guides: MLA, APA, Chicago-Turabian

Citation Builder  

Avoiding Plagiarism

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip