This is the "Finding Articles" page of the "MB 440: Food Microbiology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

MB 440: Food Microbiology  

This is a library course guide for students in Food Microbiology, MB 440/540, at Oregon State University. This page was created to support your work in MB 440/540. It includes information on how to find articles within the library and resources for impro
Last Updated: Jan 17, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.oregonstate.edu/course-guide/1581-MB440 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Finding Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Instructor Suggested Journals

  • Applied and Environmental Microbiology,
  • Molecular Microbiology
  • Food Microbiology,
  • Infection and Immunity,
  • Journal of Bacteriology,
  • International Journal of Food Microbiology,
  • Journal of Applied Microbiology,
  • Journal of Clinical Microbiology,
  • Journal of Dairy Science,
  • Journal of Food Protection,
  • Journal of Food Safety,
  • Journal of Food Science,
  • Journal of Industrial Microbiology and Biotechnology
 

Finding E-journals

Step 1: Identify specific articles of interest using the searching for journal articles on a topic directions.
Step 2:

  • Click on the E-Journals list to see if the journal you need is available online (use the link above or go to e-journals in the center of the library's homepage under "quicklinks." 
  • Enter the journal title (not the article title) in the search box at the top of the page. 
  • If you get multiple results, choose the journal listing that has the date range that includes the time frame when your article was published. 
  • Click on the blue publisher's link to get to the ejournal.
  • Navigate to the correct volume, issue and page number for your article by using either the date links, the previous issues link, or the volume links (each e-journal interface looks a little different).

Step 3: If the journal is not online, find the call number for the journal(s) in which the article is found. (Use the OSU Libraries Catalog for this step.) Find the article in the library and make a photocopy.

 

Start Broadly - 1Search

You do allow embedded content.

1search logo

Use 1Search to find books, online scholarly articles or newspaper articles that OSU subscribes to.  If you need to find specific items, such as books by a particular author, use the advanced search option for more precise searching.

<Learn More>

 

Start Broadly - Google Scholar

Google Scholar
You do allow embedded content.

With Google Scholar you can search broadly (across several disciplines) with one search.  You can use Google Scholar to find peer-reviewed articles, but you will also find pre-print copies of articles, conference papers, white papers, patents, legal opinions and more.

  1.  Before you start -- go to Scholar Preferences (click the gear icon in the upper right corner) and enter Oregon State University in the Library Links field. Save your preferences.
  2. Enter your keywords in the search box.
  3. Browse results, making sure to use the library's subscriptions to get access the text of the articles where you can.Use the Get This Item at OSU link on the left to access the article.

<Learn More>

MB 440/540 Suggested Databases

  • PubMed (also see MEDLINE)  Icon
    topics covered include clinical and experimental medicine; microbiology; pathology; pharmacology; physiology; reproductive biology; toxicology; and veterinary medicine.
    Coverage Dates: 1966 - present
  • Medline (EBSCOhost)  Icon
    topics covered include clinical and experimental medicine; microbiology; pathology; pharmacology; physiology; reproductive biology; toxicology; and veterinary medicine.
    Coverage Dates: 1950 - present
  • Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management (ESPM)  Icon
    covers environmental sciences topics, and contains a subset of databases that focus on microorganisms, microbial degradation, antibiotic activity and production, microbial toxins, soil microorganisms and environmental pollution.
    Coverage Dates: 1967 - present
  • Web of Science  Icon
    accesses a multidisciplinary database of topics include all science disciplines, includes cited reference searching.
    Coverage Dates: 1970 - present
  • Food Science and Technology Abstracts (FSTA)  Icon
    Topics cover all areas of food science, including food engineering, microbiology, packaging, technology and toxicology. Citations to materials on food laws, regulations and patents are also included. **ONLY 4 OSU users can be logged on at the same time.**
    Coverage Dates: 1969 - present
 

Searching for Journal Articles on a Topic

To search for a topic you will need to use an article database (not the ejournals list - more about using ejournals below).  

Find a good database.  Each database focuses on a particular subject. 
  • If you know the name of a good database for your project already, use the alphabet key on the databases page to navigate to your database. 
  • If you don't know the database name, use the subject pull down menu at the top of the databases page to choose your subject area.  Click on the red "I" to get more information about each database.  

Break your topic down.  Article databases often work best when you put a single idea in each search box.  For example, the research topic "how is PCR using in detecting salmonella in tomatoes" could be broken down into three main ideas - Salmonella, PCR, and tomatoes.  Each of these ideas would go in their own search box or be separated by "and."

Use Synonyms.  Scientists often refer to words in a variety of different terms than you may be used to.  Try different search words to come up with the best results.  For example, you might need to try polymerase chain reaction instead of PCR or lycopersicum for tomato.

Find the article.  Not all databases have full-text articles, and sometimes we have the article available electronically, but it is not immediately available from the database with one click. If you do not see a PDF icon for the article within the database, you have 3 options -

  • you can click on the "get this item" button which will help you discover whether or not our library has the article,
  • copy the name of the journal title, open another tab or window to the library's homepage, click on the ejournals link and paste the name of the journal in the search box,  once you have opened the journal, find the right volume, issue and page number for your article,
  • if the journal title is not in the ejournals list, paste the title into the library's catalog (use the title search) to see if we have it (either electronically or in print). 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip