LibGuides: *Human Development and Family Sciences*: Find Articles

Recommended Databases

PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles, series and books for all areas of psychology including animal, applied, clinical, developmental, educational, general, human experimental, general, physiological, social and sport psychology, and treatment and prevention.
Abstracts and index: 1887-present

Sociological Abstracts
Index to articles from journals in sociology, social work and other social sciences.
Coverage Dates: 1963 - present
PubMed/MEDLINE
Index to research articles covering all areas of medicine including clinical and experimental medicine; dentistry; health care administration; microbiology; nursing; paramedical professions; pathology; pharmacology; physiology; reproductive biology; psychiatry; psychology; toxicology; and veterinary medicine. PubMed is direct from the National Library of Medicine web site.
Abstracts and index: 1966-present

ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Index to research articles, government and independent reports and conference papers covering all areas of education at all levels. Includes thesaurus searching, links to the OSU Libraries Online Catalog and full text document service (EDRS), where applicable. Links are provided for full text articles and documents.
Coverage Dates: 1966 - present
Education Source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Education Source covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Source provides indexing and abstracts for 6. million articles found within more than 3,500 journals, as well as full text for more than 750 journals and 530 books and monographs. Also provided are numerous education-related conference papers, and 475 videos from Simple K12.

Other Databases to Try

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.
Coverage Dates: 1975 - present
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects - authoritative and comprehensive. Millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions; updated daily.
General OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political & Social Research This link opens in a new window
The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is the world's largest data archive. ICPSR acquires, processes anddistributes social science data collected by government agencies and other researchers.The data holdings cover a broad range of disciplines, including political science, sociology,demography, economics, history, education, gerontology, criminal justice, public health,foreign policy, and law.
Coverage Dates: - present
Statistical Abstract This link opens in a new window
A collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Selected international data are also included. The Abstract is also a guide to sources of other data from the Census Bureau, other Federal agencies, and private organizations.
Coverage Dates: - 2006

HDFS online resources

GERONTOLOGY

Internet Resources on Aging from AARP - The web sites in AARP's Internet Resources on Aging are chosen for their usefulness for older adults and their families, as well as for researchers, students, and professionals in the field of aging.(not frequently updated)

Alliance for Aging Research - A private, not-for-profit national citizen advocacy organization that advances biomedical and behavioral research in aging and health. The Alliance was founded in 1986 to promote and accelerate medical and scientific research into aging.

DEMOGRAPHICS

Pew Social & Demographic Trends
http://www.pewsocialtrends.org/

The Pew Research Center’s Social & Demographic Trends project studies behaviors and attitudes of Americans in key realms of their lives, including family, community, health, finance, work and leisure. The project explores these topics by combining original public opinion survey research with social, economic and demographic data analysis.

The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan “fact tank” that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It does not take positions on policy issues. The Pew Research Center is an independent subsidiary of the Pew Charitable Trusts.

Finding the full text of an article

Look for the button to open the full article.

Options for getting to the PDF will open in a new window. Sometimes the link will take you to the journal, not the individual article. Use the citation information for the article to get to the right year, volume and issue of the journal.

If the library doesn't have it, request the article for free from Interlibrary Loan: https://library.oregonstate.edu/illiad On average, articles arrive digitally in 13 hours.

Libraries

Human Development and Family Sciences

Librarian

Where can I get more help?

Recommended Databases

Other Databases to Try

HDFS online resources

Finding the full text of an article

Contact Info

In the Valley Library

Digital Projects

Branches