For veterinary medicine, these are useful and freely available.

• Agricola (National Agricultural Library) provides citations to a wide variety of articles, reports, conference proceedings and more.
• PubMed/Medline (National Library of Medicine) focuses on the medical literature including animals and links to full text when openly accessible.
• Consultant is a diagnostic support tool for veterinary medicine from Cornell. 
• BestBETS for Vets comes from the University of Nottingham and is an easy to use tool for exploring best practices/evidence reviews.
• VetSReview, also from the University of Nottinghham, is a database of evidence-based systematic reviews. It provides the citations, but linking to the full text is limited.
• Merck Veterinary Manual

You can find other free Veterinary Medicine resources listed on the Veterinary Medicine Research Guide.

While you won't have access to the OSU databases off-campus, there are many free sources you can use to find books and articles on a topic. Below are some sources you can use to find books and articles on a variety of topics.

WorldCat - A database of books and articles held by libraries around the United States and some international libraries. Search Worldcat to find out what's been published in your area and request the items through your public library's interlibrary loan service.

Google Scholar - A subset of Google that searches for more scholarly materials such as articles and books. Some articles may be available online for free but others you will need to request through your public library's interlibrary loan service.

Open Access Button - If you know a paper that you want to read, you can search for a freely available full-text copy. They also have a browser button.

Unpaywall - A browser button that you can install in your internet browser program. It will link to freely available full-text if an article is available.

Many journals will allow you to search their table of contents for free. In some cases some of the articles may be available online for free. Search for the name of the journal to see if the table of content is available.

Another good source for journal articles is the DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals). These journals are free and offer full-text articles.

PubMed Central is a great source for articles in medicine and related fields. Another option is Free Medical Journals.

Licensing agreements restrict the off-campus use of online databases to OSU faculty, staff and students. You can, however, use the databases in the library.

Your local public library will also have access to many online databases. Once you have a local public library card, you may be able to access their databases from home.