LibGuides: WR 222: Everything's an Argument (English Composition): Current Issues Conversations

Resources for WR222

This guide was designed to help you find and explore conversations about current events and current topics. Most of these modules will point you to resources written for general audiences, or to conversations happening about current events. There are also resources to help you evaluate sources and the claims they make.

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints pulls together background information and pro & con viewpoints about current social issues back to 1981. The database includes: Nearly 7,000 viewpoint articles, 41 complete titles from the Information Plus reference program, more than 275 primary documents, 300 biographies of social activists and reformers,nearly 5,000 statistical tables, charts and graphs Nearly 4,600 topic overviews that provide context for the issues, more than 775 court-case overviews, 334 profiles of federal agencies and special interest groups, 2,000 links to reviewed and subject-indexed Web sites, more than 1,300 images, all hand-selected to support the topics covered, more than 135 full-text periodicals and newspapers, podcasts from the Weekly Presidential Radio Address.

To find editorials and opinions in Nexis Uni:

Click Advanced Search menu
Select News
Select the Editorials and Opinions box

America's News (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of local, regional and national news sources including the Oregonian. Available remotely 24/7 on any device.
America's News Magazines (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
Explore and stay informed on local and national topics, people and events in areas such as business, health, education, jobs and careers, political and social issues and more. Features a wide variety of credible, vetted news sources spanning the U.S., including Philadelphia Magazine. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.
Newspaper Source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides selected full text for more than 40 U.S. and international newspapers back to 1984. This collection offers full text for more than 330 regional (U.S.) newspapers. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.
Oregonian (Newsbank Historical and Current Collection) This link opens in a new window
Research Portland history through the Oregonian Collection with coverage from 1861 through current. Study trends, issues, events, advertisements, companies and more through historical and current full newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online.
Oregon Index This link opens in a new window
The Oregon Index is a selective index to Oregon newspapers, and to Oregon items in selected other publications. The database does not contain full-text information.

Coverage:
Coos Bay World, Jan 1996 - May 1996
Corvallis Gazette Times, 1995 - Nov 15, 1999
Daily Astorian 1998-1990
Eugene Register-Guard, Jan1988 -
Klamath Falls Herald & News, Jan - May 1996
LaGrande Observer, 1995 -
Lake Oswego Review, 1996 -
Portland Oregonian, Jan 1985-Dec 1992
Salem Statesman Journal, Jan 1987 - Sept 2002
Tigard Times, 1996 -
West Linn Tidings, Aug 13, 1998 -
Willamette Week, 1974 -
Wilsonville Spokesman, 1995 - (incomplete coverage)
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Full-text of the Wall Street Journal from 1984.

Washington Post
Full-text articles from the Washington Post, 2014-present.

Political Blog Aggregators

Browsing

This is a short list of just a few of the social news media sites available. Most of these include blogs, comments, pointers to news articles and analysis. In other words, they provide a combination of opinion writing and more traditional journalism:

Note: the comment threads on these posts are user-generated. The quality of the comments range from inane to insightful. Language, etc. is usually not moderated.