LibGuides: *Business: Business Reference, Video, and Books

Business Reference Tools

Countries and their Cultures 2001
A team of anthropologists and social scientists have taken a close look at more than 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture -- every bit as much as geographic borders -- defines and separates the nations of the world. Using a standard entry format for easy comparison, each country's shared values, behaviors and cultural variations are surveyed -- from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts. This 4-vol. set is lavishly illustrated with more than 1,000 photographs and more than 200 maps.
Coverage Dates: - 2001
.
Small Business Resource Center
Easy to search and highly intuitive, this is a comprehensive database offering content that covers all major areas of starting and operating a business, including accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax and more. Based on a combination of periodical and reference content, Small Business Resource Center is a good source of basic information for the prospective and current entrepreneurial community, as well as for students in business programs.
.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Business titles include:
Encyclopedia of Business and Finance, 2nd ed., 2v, 2006 (9780028660813)
Encyclopedia of Global Brands, 2nd ed., 2v, 2013 (9781558628540)
Encyclopedia of Global Industries, 3rd ed., 2006 (9781414421346)
Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns, 2007 (9781414406077)
Encyclopedia of Management, 5th ed., 2006 (9781414404783)
Encyclopedia of Small Business, 3rd ed., 2v, 2007 (9781414410401)
Everyday Finance: Economics, Personal Money Management, and Entrepreneurship, 2v, 2008 (9781414429298)
.
World FactBook - CIA
Amazingly useful for global business researchers! The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. The Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.

Business Video

Kanopy Streaming Media This link opens in a new window

Kanopy Streaming Media

Kanopy is a streaming video resource with a collection of over 26,000 films on every subject imaginable and from leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, HBO California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, BBC, First Run Features, The Video Project, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Education Resources. Kanopy’s website makes it easy to watch, share and discuss films across campus.

OSU LIbraries' subscription to Kanopy movies includes broad educational access. You can:

Create a playlist of required or suggested movies to share with classes
Create a clip or set of clips to be embedded in Canvas or linked in your syllabus
Show movies or clips from movies in the classroom

The Business Collection includes: Case studies, career development, business skills, economics, globalization, and other business topics: http://oregonstate.kanopystreaming.com/catalog/business

Access to the Kanopy collection of movies is available through the joint support of OSU Libraries and Ecampus.

Academic Video Online (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window

Academic Video Online (AVON) from Alexander Street Press/ProQuest

Oregon State University Library patrons now have access to the Academic Video Online (AVON) collection from Alexander Street Press. AVON provides access to over 63,000 streaming videos on a wide array of subjects ranging from arts, education, How-to, travel, STEM topics. Users can also find and view documentaries, news programs, short clips, feature films, from popular producers such as BBC, A&E, PBS, American Academy of Pediatrics, 60 Minutes, and much more. Subjects in Business & Economics include:

Accounting - Consumer Behavior - Corporate Communication - Corporate Governance - Economics - Entrepreneurship - Finance - Human Resource Management - International Business - Marketing Strategy - Project Management - Strategic Management - Supply Chain Management

All AVON videos are closed captioned and many have transcripts that come in multiple languages. Clips and playlists can be embedded in Canvas or linked in course syllabi. You can learn more about AVON and its platform by visiting their information guide, http://proquest.libguides.com/avon

Use 1Search to find More Books and Reference Works

1Search combines the OSU Libraries' catalog, Summit catalog, and many of our online databases and e-journals into one search engine. 1Search is the place to look for books in the OSU Libraries or in other libraries in the Pacific-Northwest (which you can borrow), full-text online journals, magazines and newspapers, journals the OSU Libraries owns in print, media (videos, DVDs, CD, recordings, streaming media,etc), course reserves materials, and materials in our Special Collections and Archives Research Center (SCARC).

You can access 1Search on the library home page in the center of the screen:

For more details on how to search in 1Search, see the guide at http://guides.library.oregonstate.edu/Primo

Libraries

*Business

Business Reference Tools

Business Video

Use 1Search to find More Books and Reference Works

Contact Info

In the Valley Library

Digital Projects

Branches