- Borrow & Request
- Meet & Study Here
- Tech & Print
These periodicals are housed in various archival collections, the main being the Brewing and Fermentation Research Collection.
All About Beer - Beer news, feature articles, expert panel tastings, travel, collectibles, homebrewing, history, beer cultures in other countries, food and beer, book reviews. Also includes ratings of more than 100 beers in every issue.
American Brewer - Topics that focus on the "business of beer" and matter to decision makers in the brewing industry. Newly emerging trends and incisive analysis; content written and compiled by experienced journalists. Informative, comprehensive, and sometimes controversial.
Beer Northwest/Beer West Magazine - Started as a Northwest beer culture and lifestyle magazine; in January 2011, the magazine expanded into California and became Beer West. Design concepts, innovative stories, and beer lifestyle content. Targeted to beer and food enthusiasts, and marketed as a "celebration of the unique Western beer-loving life."
Brewers Guardian - International brewing industry magazine that covers the "business of brewing." Covers topics including corporate strategy, brewing, packaging, regulation, environmental and social responsibility, and brands and marketing. Also includes interviews with senior industry executives on industry trends and developments. Brewers' Guardian was first published in 1871, as a continuation of the Country Brewer’s Gazette, and covered big stories such as the scientific breakthroughs of Louis Pasteur.
Brewing Techniques - Technical brewing magazine (1993-1999) was designed for both the advanced homebrewer and commercial brewer. Articles are written by a wide range of authors and on a wide variety of topics such as adjuncts, real ale, lab methods, education and training, judging, startups, and hops.
Celebrator Beer News - Newspaper about U.S. craft brewing, with articles related to festivals and events, food, people, beer and books reviews, and other industry tidbits. Also includes articles about international activities.
New Brewer - Established in 1983 to help commercial start-up breweries find their way during the early days of the craft beer revolution, the journal of the Brewers Association has evolved with the maturing craft brewing community. Offers practical insights and advice for all sized breweries; content includes industry news, brewing technology, pub and restaurant management, and packaged beer sales and distribution. The annual "Industry Review" issue (May/June) tallies production for every craft brewery in America.
Malt Advocate - Magazine that used to focus more on beer, this publication is now called Whisky Advocate and devotes most of the issues to whisky-related topics.
Northwest Brewing News - Craft beer and brewing news from the Northwest, including feature columns, tasting panels, seasonal releases, homebrewers information, as well as state columns from Alaska and British Columbia to the Bay Area.
Oregon Beer Growler - Oregon-centric craft beer newspaper covering a wide-variety of topics including brewery news, politics and regional concerns, people, history, homebrewing, food, tasting, and events.
Zymurgy - Journal of the American Homebrewers Association that provides information for brewers and beer lovers. Articles include events, recipes, ingredients, books, suppliers, industry news, statistics of latest trends of the brewing industry, equipment, brewing science, and a healthy dose of beer culture.
Western brewer - Includes articles and pictures of people, companies, plants, and other related industry information, as well as advertisements for equipment/supplies and statistics. This journal was also called Beverage Journal (during Prohibition) and Brewers Journal. It was published by Gibson Pub. Co. in Philadelphia.
The year book of the United States Brewers' Association - Information about the activities and issues pertaining to the US Brewers' Association, including supplemental research materials; tables and statistics for taxation related to malt liquors, hops, barley, and rice; and officers, members, and breweries from each state. The 1911 through 1916 yearbooks include proceedings of the 51st through 56th annual conventions, and the yearbook for 1909 includes a "Historical sketch of United States Brewers' Association."
The Brewer's digest - Marketed to commercial brewers, this journal includes abstracts for new publications, news from the US and abroad, education, statistics, event information, economic and legislative updates, photographs, and wonderful advertisements. It was published by Siebel Pub. Co. in Chicago and was also known as Brewers Technical Review and Siebel Technical Review.
Anti-saloon League year book (HV5286 .A6)
Brewery History was first published in 1973 and appears four times a year. Its prime aim is to promote historical research into all aspects of brewing and related industries, both in the United Kingdom and abroad. The journal comprises original articles, photographic essays, reprints of academic theses and difficult to obtain pieces, and book reviews. The scope of Brewery History includes, but is not limited to, histories of existing and closed breweries, research on associated industries (e.g. malting, hops, retailing), biographical pieces on key figures, and studies into the social, political and economic impact of the brewing industry. The journal occasionally publishes themed issues on specific topics and provides the option for peer review.
Journal of the American Society of Brewing Chemists - Published by the American Society of Brewing Chemists, this journal publishes scientific papers, review articles, and technical reports dealing with the chemistry and microbiology of brewing ingredients and relevant technology, as well as the analytical techniques used in the malting and brewing industry.
Journal of the Institute of Brewing - This journal publishes original scientific papers relating to the brewing and fermentation industries, their raw materials and by-products. Papers are drawn from universities, research institutes and industrial laboratories world-wide.
Journal of the Federated Institutes of Brewing - British journal that contains original research articles, as well as abstracts from articles published in other journals.
Wallerstein Laboratories - Publications on the science and practice of brewing.
These two publications supported the growers, brewers, and related industries with articles about crop forecasts and yields, mechanization and technological advances, pests and diseases, research, health, and membership information. These periodicals are housed in the Oregon Hops & Brewing Collection.
Newsletter was prepared by Hop Specialist G.R. Hoerner and issued monthly by the Oregon State College Extension Service to provide information on hops and brewing to County Extension Agents in Oregon. This informal publication provides a detailed view of hops growing and production in Oregon and the northwest for this period, as well as information about hops growing in Washington, Idaho, and California. Included are a variety of news items, such as statistics on hop acreage, the costs of production, number of growers, information about industry organizations, summaries and preliminary reports of OSU hops research, news items from newspapers and other publications in Oregon and Washington, agendas for Hop Growers Conferences, and summaries of presentations at these conferences.
How can you use this list? These are the most consulted books in our collections. Beneath each title, you’ll find a description of the material, as well as frequent research topics associated with the book. Use this list as an inspiration rather than a prescription.
Ambitious Brew by Maureen Ogle
Ogle brings an analytical and historical approach to the American beer narrative, structuring the story around the histories of prominent brewers and beer enthusiasts. The book offers a good general history from the westward expansion of the mid-nineteenth century to the craft brewing craze at the turn of the twentieth. Extensive notes, bibliography, and index included.
We've used this for research pertaining to: history of American brewing and the American beer industry.
The Audacity of Hops by Tom Acitelli
The Audacity of Hops follows the explosion of the American craft brew movement since the 1970s, built upon information gathered from interviews and archives. Acitelli notably covers multiple industry facets, including brewing, marketing, and public perception. Acitelli also addresses the impact of similar cultural trends, such as the Slow Food Movement.
We've used this for research pertaining to: the history of craft brewing in America, public perception of drinking beer, and promotional materials and campaigns related to brewing.
Bend Beer by Jon Abernathy
Abernathy traces the trajectory of Central Oregon’s beer history in his book, Bend Beer. In addition to including historical and production information for many Central Oregon breweries, the book contains a fascinating economic narrative of the region. Abernathy tracks Bend’s progress from a small homesteading community in the early twentieth century to a destination town with one of the highest number of breweries per capita in the nation.
We've used this for research pertaining to: Central Oregon breweries and Central Oregon beer history.
Brewed in America by Stanley Baron
Published in 1962, this book focuses on the lasting popularity of beer and homebrewing throughout American history. Baron traces American beer’s roots back to the colonies, gradually following its trajectory across the growing nation and offering industry and brewing information along the way. Baron’s work is notable for its focus on early brewing practices, from the seventeenth century to Prohibition, as well as its lengthy reference list, bibliography, and index.
We've used this for research pertaining to: pre-Prohibition, beer styles, and the development of brewing along the Pacific Coast.
Brewed in the Pacific Northwest by Gary and Gloria Meier
Without extensive citations or notes, this book offers an excellent introduction to the general history and production trends of brewing in Oregon and Washington. The Meiers cover important pre-Prohibition brewers and the steps they took to try to survive Prohibition. Brewed in the Pacific Northwest also includes homebrewing information, rare historical photos, and industry-related promotional materials.
We've used this for research pertaining to: Pacific Northwest brewing history, pre-Prohibition brewing practices, original Oregon breweries, and original Washington breweries.
Hoptopia: A World of Agriculture and Beer in Oregon's Willamette Valley by Dr. Peter Kopp
Oregon Breweries by Brian Yaeger
Yaeger’s book offers brief histories, beer lists, and engaging vignettes from nearly 200 breweries across Oregon. Written almost like a guidebook, Oregon Breweries is easy to digest and browse for information. Personal interviews and visits make Yaeger’s book an important addition to the ‘Beervana’ narrative.
We've used this for research pertaining to: Oregon beer history, Oregon breweries, Portland breweries, regional beer industry information.
Portland Beer by Pete Dunlop
Dunlop uses interviews and archival materials to follow the rise of ‘Beervana’ in Portland. Although the book is best used for post-Prohibition research, it also includes some historical information about the city’s popular frontier saloon culture. Of particular note are Dunlop’s sections pertaining to the Brewpub Bill and the influence of local, beer-centric events like the Oregon Brewers Festival.
We've used this for research pertaining to: Portland beer culture, Portland breweries, and modern legislation pertaining to beer.
Portland Beer Stories by Steven Shomler
Shomler lends his voice to more than 40 individuals involved in Portland’s craft brew industry. Learn about the beer scene and its contemporary history from the brewers, distributors, pub owners, and growers living in its midst. Easily digested, Portland Beer Stories offers an entertaining way to discover little-told stories and introduce oneself to the craft beer movement.
We've used this for research pertaining to: contemporary Portland beer history and Portland brew culture.
Radical Brewing by Randy Mosher
Mosher offers a variety of recipes and brewing tips in Radical Brewing, focusing largely on rarely-used historical styles and unusual, modern concoctions. The book includes enough information and explanation to aid a first-time brewer, but was written with more experienced brewers in mind.
We've used this for research pertaining to: historical and contemporary recipes and styles, and homebrewing information.
Tinged with Gold: Hop Culture in the United States by Michael A. Tomlan
Tomlan studies structures related to rural hop farming, examining them in specific socioeconomic and historical contexts. These structures are used as foundations for creating a national narrative of hop farming, one which explores the cultivation and harvesting of the crop. Tinged with Gold offers excellent background on the hop industry, as well as the incredible technological advances that have changed the way farms operate.
We've used this for research pertaining to: hop cultivation and distribution, rural farming in the 18th/19th centuries, and the history of hop growth and use in America.
A Year of Beer by Amahl Turczyn Sheppach
Compiled by Sheppach, the book contains more than 250 homebrew recipes for dozens of beer styles. The recipes are recommended by season, giving homebrewers information regarding the best time to brew which beer styles. The book contains minimal information about the actual brewing process, making it a text for the more experienced brewer.
We've used this for research pertaining to: historical and contemporary recipes and styles.
For further useful reading, browse the book lists of these collections:
121 The Valley Library
Corvallis OR 97331–4501