Skip to main content
Oregon State University OREGON STATE UNIVERSITY

OSU Libraries

Oregon Hops and Brewing Archives: ORAL HISTORIES, VIDEOS

This guide provides a list of archival collections related to hops and brewing history, as well as tips and resources for doing research.

Benton County Historical Society oral histories

These interviews support research in the Oregon Hops & Brewing Archives, but the original interview cassettes and transcripts are part of the Benton County Historical Society collection. Please contact them for any permissions to reproduce.   

James Winn, 2/5/1982. 39:35

Interview with James Winn, 5264 Spring Hill Drive, Albany, Oregon Date: February 5, 1982 Interviewer: Earl Nunnemaker for Benton County Historical Society.

Charles Staley, 4/2/1982, tape 1. 31:53

Interview with Charles Staley, Glisan Street Health Center, Portland, Oregon Date: April 2, 1982 Interviewer: Mickey Peterson for the Benton County Historical Society.

Charles Staley, 4/2/1982, tape 2. 09:26

Interview with Charles Staley, Glisan Street Health Center, Portland, Oregon Date: April 2, 1982 Interviewer: Mickey Peterson for the Benton County Historical Society.

Dane Purvine, 3/5/1982, tape 1. 31:42

Interview with Dane Purvine 1129 N. W. 16th, Corvallis, Oregon 97330 Date: March 5, 1982 Interviewer: Earl Nunnemaker for Benton County Historical Society.

Dane Purvine, 3/5/1982, tape 2. 20:20

Interview with Dane Purvine 1129 N. W. 16th, Corvallis, Oregon 97330 Date: March 5, 1982 Interviewer: Earl Nunnemaker for Benton County Historical Society.

Sidney Newton, 3/24/1982, tape 1. 30:13

Interview with Sidney Newton, 16 S. Third, Independence, Oregon Date: March 24, 1982 Interviewer: Kathleen Hudson Cooler for the Benton County Historical Society.

Sidney Newton, 3/24/1982, tape 2. 29:58

Interview with Sidney Newton, 16 S. Third, Independence, Oregon Date: March 24, 1982 Interviewer: Kathleen Hudson Cooler for the Benton County Historical Society.

Beth Monroe, 1/25/1982. 39:56

Interview with Beth Monroe, 1129 N. W. 16th Street, Corvallis, Oregon Date: January 25, 1982 Interviewer: Mickey Peterson for the Benton County Historical Society.

Tom Kraemer, 2/2/1982. 37:02

Interview with Tom Kraemer, 160 N. E. Conifer, Corvallis, Oregon Date: February 2, 1982 Interviewer: Tim Satler for Benton County Historical Society.

Ming Kee, 4/19/1982, tape 1. 31:57

Interview with Ming Kee, 25141 N. E. Boones Perry Rd., Aurora, Oregon Date: April 19, 1982 Interviewer: Daniel C. Robertson for the Benton County Historical Society.

Ming Kee, 4/19/1982, tape 2. 09:35

Interview with Ming Kee, 25141 N. E. Boones Perry Rd., Aurora, Oregon Date: April 19, 1982 Interviewer: Daniel C. Robertson for the Benton County Historical Society.

Harvey Kaser, 4/16/1982, tape 1. 31:55

Interview with Harvey Kaser, 3098 Cascade Hwy, N.E., Silverton, Oregon Date: April 16, 1982 Interviewer: Kathleen Hudson Cooler for the Benton County Historical Society.

Harvey Kaser, 4/16/1982, tape 2. 31:53

Interview with Harvey Kaser, 3098 Cascade Hwy., N.E., Silverton, Oregon Date: April 16, 1982 Interviewer: Kathleen Hudson Cooler for the Benton County Historical Society. 

Al Haunold, 2/1/1982, tape 1. 31:21

Interview with Al Haunold, Oregon State University Date: February 1, 1982 Interviewer: Keith W. Peterson, for Benton County Historical Society.

Al Haunold, 2/1/1982, tape 2. 07:24

Interview with Al Haunold, Oregon State University Date: February 1, 1982 Interviewer: Keith W. Peterson, for Benton County Historical Society. 

Amanda Grim, 4/6/1982. 12:51

Interview with Amanda Grim Date: April 6, 1982 Interviewer: Kathleen Hudson Cooper for the Benton County Historical Society.

Herman Goschie, 4/14/82, tape 1. 30:24

Interview with Herman Goschie, 7365 Meridian Road, N. E., Silverton, Oregon Date: April 14, 1982 Interviewer: Tim Satler for the Benton County Historical Society. 

Herman Goschie, 4/14/82, tape 2. 18:26

Interview with Herman Goschie, 7365 Meridian Road, N. E., Silverton, Oregon Date: April 14, 1982 Interviewer: Tim Satler for the Benton County Historical Society.

Gale Evans, 4/7/1982, tape 1. 31:33

Interview with Gale Evans Rt. 1, Box 68, Logsden, Oregon Date: April 7, 1982 Interviewer: Daniel C. Robertson for the Benton County Historical Society. 

Gale Evans, 4/7/1982, tape 2. 08:30

Interview with Gale Evans Rt. 1, Box 68, Logsden, Oregon Date: April 7, 1982 Interviewer: Daniel C. Robertson for the Benton County Historical Society. 

Rosa Cole, 2/17/1982, tape 1. 30:35

Interview with Rosa Cole 1551 N. E. Center Street, #102, Salem, Oregon Date: February 17, 1982 Interviewer: Tim Satler, for Benton County Historical Society. 

Rosa Cole, 2/17/1982, tape 2. 27:28

Interview with Rosa Cole 1551 N. E. Center Street, #102, Salem, Oregon Date: February 17, 1982 Interviewer: Tim Satler, for Benton County Historical Society. 

Related OSU videos

Annessa Babic - Resident Scholar Lecture "Safety for our Souls: Food Activism and the Environmental and Women’s Movements, 1960s-1990s." August 23, 2016. 00:56:48 

Dr. Annessa Babic is a freelance writer, Instructor for Kentucky Wesleyan College and New York Institute of Technology, and Co-Chair for the Women's Network Steering Committee of the European Association of American Studies; she visited OSU as a part of the resident scholar program. Her research focused on food, specifically political and grassroots activism as it relates to food waste, labeling, taste, and manufacturing, but in her lecture she shares the ways her project expended based on the archival materials she found at OSU, linking education and labeling to the industry, operations, and culture of commercial breweries, homebrewers, and consumers. Audience questions focus on WIC, international labeling, gender, immigrants adaptation to new food systems, and connection between small food communities and anti-military movements. 

Ryan Dearinger - Resident Scholar Lecture "Hop Picking Cultures in the Pacific Northwest." May 26, 2016. 01:11:12

Dr. Ryan Dearinger, Associate Professor of History at Eastern Oregon University, visited Oregon State University as part of the resident scholar program. This lecture, “Hop-Picking Cultures in the Pacific Northwest,” delves into the tense racial relations among agricultural laborers of the nineteenth century. Dearinger examines the technological and cultural changes that followed the spread of “hop fever” throughout the Pacific Northwest. Using a massacre in Squak Valley, WA as a central case study, Dearinger explores the relationships and cultural conceptions among Native American, Chinese and Caucasian laborers. This lecture was given on May 26, 2016 in the Valley Library at Oregon State University.

Teri Fahrendorf Lecture - "My Beer Career." February 2, 2016. 01:02:22

Lecture by Teri Fahrendorf to OSU brewing science students about Fahrendorf's career as a brewer in California and Oregon; her establishment of the Pink Boots Society to support women brewers; and working at Great Western Malting Company. The lecture was held in Wiegand Hall on February 2, 2016.

Oregon Hop Commission Historical Footage. 01:48:04

This c. 1995 video contains footage for a documentary film; the interviewer, date, locations, and many of the interviewees are not identified. Footage of hop yards, properties, barns, driers, laborers training bines, and buildings in Salem is included at the beginning and end of the video. Also included are two interviews with Adele Egan, who talks about pay day at the hop fields in the 1930s, and a group interview with five hop farmers (including Ray Kerr, Cap Becker, Andy Kerr, and Mr. Smith). They talk for nearly 45 minutes about a variety of topics, including picking technologies; family stories; the quality of hand picked hops; socio-economic, ethnic, and racial demographics of the picker population in the 1920s through the 1940s, impact of newer hop varieties like the Cascade, and the impact of micro and macro brewers on production. 

John O' Connell, Hop Growers of America conference presentation. 54:20

John O’Connell gave this presentation, circa 1995, to the Hop Growers of America on the topic of the Chinese hops and beer makings. He talks about the flow of information, increased interest in beer in China, the places where larger American macro breweries are involved with both agriculture and brewing, and labor practices. This video is part of the Oregon Hop Growers Association Collection. 

Hops farming operations, circa 194511:43

This video shows laborers in fields, a tractor tilling alleys in fields, watering and irrigation, fields before harvest, harvest, picking machines, baling, and a public event. This video is a part of the Oregon Hop Growers Association Collection and Adela Serris' name is on the VHS cassette.

Widmer Tour, 5/9/2014. 29:11

Tour conducted at Widmer Brewing Facility, Portland, OR. 

Widmer Bros. Commercial, ca. 1997. 05:49

From Austen Family Business Center records transfer September 2014. Original collection is College of Business Photographs (P194): http://scarc.library.oregonstate.edu/coll/p194/index.html.…

OHBA Stories: the Oregon Hops & Brewing Archives video, 2014. 07:20

This video showcases some of the stories found in the archive, but also gives viewers an introduction into what an archivist does and how archives are collected. Interviews include Tiah Edmunson-Morton, Scott McFarland, Dr. Thomas Shellhammer, Dr. Shaun Townsend, Gayle Goschie, Nate Tilly, Kurt and Rob Widmer, Blake Crosby, and Teri Fahrendorf. Produced by Eric Buist, Yancy Faulkner, Korey Jackson, Tiah Edmunson-Morton.

Tap Into History: Four Perspectives on Brewing in Oregon, March 28, 2014. 01:38:36

This event took place at the Oregon Hops & Brewing Archives launch party and was accompanied by screenings of video shorts and a full-length documentary on the history of brewing. Panel participants included agriculture historian Peter Kopp, journalist John Foyston, Full Sail Brewing founder and CEO Irene Firmat, and OSU doctoral candidate Daniel Sharp. See the event page for more information.

OSU Agriculture Experiment Station Communications PSA: Hops, 1980. 01:12
From the Extension and Experiment Station Communications Moving Images Collection, 1937-2007. 1980 Dr Alfred Haunold in the hop fields.

Fermentation Science at Oregon State University. 04:04

Oregon State University knows the science of beer. Students, graduate researchers, faculty and graduates contribute to the brewing industry on a global scale. Located in one of the great hop growing regions of the world, and in the cradle of the ongoing craft brewing revolution, OSU's strength in fermentation science is a perfect fit for the region. Find out some of the stories of our students, faculty and graduates and learn why we take the art and science beer so seriously. Video Produced by OSU Web Communications.

Fac Assessment Academy 2011 08 Thomas Shellhammer

Programmatic Assessment with Food Science and Technology, Thomas H. Shellhammer, Nor\'wester Professor of Fermentation Science. 

OSU Fermentation Science Program. 02:20

Take a trip to the OSU Pilot Brewery to see what students majoring in fermentation science are learning about beer making. Research is conducted at OSU that benefits the microbrewery industry.

OSU Food & Fermentation Science Club. 01:23

Students in the club gain hands-on experience developing their own beer recipes while having fun learning about fermentation science.

Oral histories with related content

OSU 150

Oregon Emergency Farm Labor Service Oral History Collection, 1992 (OH08)

Oregon State University Extension Service Faculty and Staff Oral History Collection, 2007-2009 (OH14)

2017 OHBA oral histories

Dave Wills oral history interview, April 24, 2017. 01:37:32

Dave Wills is the owner of Freshops, Oregon Trail Brewery, and Dave's Christmas Trees. In his interview, Wills talks about growing up in Southern California, moving to Oregon to attend OSU, and how his early interest in home brewing was sparked by a trip through Europe. He details the early home brewing community in Corvallis, establishing Fresh Hops to supply the home brewing community, and the evolution of Oregon Trail Brewing, which opened in October 1987. Wills also discusses changes he's seen in the local and state brewing industry, the hops supply business, and the consumers. This interview was conducted by Michelle McKay and Tiah Edmunson-Morton on April 24, 2017 at Oregon Trail Brewery in Corvallis Oregon. 

John Coleman oral history interview, April 19, 2017. 01:33:40

​John Coleman is a hop grower based in St. Paul, Oregon. He manages the hops and perennial crops for Coleman Ag, a large family run company. In his interview Coleman talks about growing up in St. Paul, working on the farm, and attending OSU in the 1980s. He also talks extensively about the family business, including their partnership with Rogue Ales and the farm in Independence, potential collaboration with the brewery at the Abbey in Mount Angel, and ways he thinks the company can continue to grow or change to meet new needs. The interview was conducted by Michelle McKay in St. Paul, Oregon on April 19, 2017. Also present was Tiah Edmunson-Morton.

Tom Carpenter oral history interview, March 28, 2017. 01:33:41

Tom Carpenter is a 4th generation hop grower based in Granger, Washington. In his interview, Carpenter talks about the history of hops in the Yakima Valley, his families' important role in the grower cooperative that eventually became Yakima Chief, the role of family in their business, and the role of Native Americans in the hops industry.  This interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton on March 28, 2017 at Carpenter Ranch in Granger, Washington.  

Ralph Woodall oral history interview, March 28, 2017. 01:46:58

Ralph Woodall works in sales for Yakima-Chief Hopunion, a company he has been with since the mid-1980s. In his interview, Woodall talks about his family history in the Yakima Valley, his work in the hop industry, his present role in the larger YCH company, and the changes in the Master Brewers Association of America with the decrease in large regional breweries and the emergence of the craft industry. Woodall also shows a number of pictures from festivals, trade shows, and other events he took over the years. Of special note are the pictures of NW brewers. This interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton on March 28, 2017 at Yakima-Chief Hopunion in Yakima, Washington.  

Robyn Schumacher oral history interview, March 27, 2017. 01:27:39

Robyn Schumacher is a brewer at Stoup Brewing in Seattle's Ballard district. In her interview, Schumacher talks about growing up in Spokane, her early interest in sports and science, and about choosing to go to Carroll College to study biology in Helena, Montana. Schumacher also discusses her early career as a high school teacher and factors that influenced her decision to shift to jobs in the restaurant and brewing industries. She talks specifically about learning to home brew, studying for the cicerone exam (she was the first woman in Washington to be certified), exploring the brewing community, and the story of her co-ownership of Stoup. This interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton on March 27, 2017 at Stoup Brewing in Seattle, Washington.  

Sybil Perkins oral history interview, March 27, 2017. 01:35:55

Sybil Perkins is the brand director and a board member for the Pink Boots Society. In her interview, Perkins talks about growing up in the Eugene/Springfield area, her interest and passion for arts and music, her early and evolving work as an activist, her experiences living in Philadelphia and New York City, and her return to the west coast to the greater Seattle area. She talks specifically about her work doing graphic design and marketing work with the brewing industry, her views on gender and inclusion, and how the mission and outreach of the Pink Boots Society has expanded over the past few years. This interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton on March 27, 2017 at Perkins' home in Snohomish, Washington.  

Brad Clack oral history interview, March 22, 2017. 01:18:58

Brad Clack is a retired hop buyer for SS Steiner (now Hopsteiner). In his interview, Clack talks about his family's farm work on the Oregon coast, growing up in Salem, Oregon, and changes in the hop industry since he started in 1978. Clack also talks about the importance of the relationships in the industry and challenges for handing down knowledge, as well as his experiences managing the hop marketing orders. This interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton on March 22, 2017 at the Hopsteiner offices in Brookes, Oregon. Also present was Michelle McKay.

Gary Nance oral history interview, March 17, 2017. 01:19:58

Gary Nance is the brewer at the McMenamins on Monroe in Corvallis, Oregon. Nance started brewing professionally in 1995, working as the assistant brewer at Spencer's Restaurant and Brewhouse in Springfield, Oregon, where he helped develop Oregon's first certified organic ale in 1998. After Spencer's closed, he  had short stints working at West Bros. and Steelhead before taking a job at the McMenamins Thompson Brewery and Public House in Salem in August 2002. Nance moved to the new Monroe Street facility when it opened in 2006. In his interview, Nance talks about growing up in Oklahoma, moving to the West Coast, living in Eugene, his growing interest in brewing, and his experiences at several different breweries in different cities. He also talks about McMenamins culture and balancing brewing experimentation with the expected standardization in a company. The interview was conducted on March 17, 2017 by Tiah Edmunson-Morton in the McMenamins Monroe brewery in Corvallis, Oregon.

Lisa Morrison oral history interview, March 15, 2017. 02:10:31

Lisa Morrison is the majority owner at Belmont Station in Portland. In her interview, Morrison talks about growing up in Oklahoma, moving to Colorado for high school, and college experiences at Colorado State University. It was at CSU that her interest in imported and local microbrews was sparked. After graduating with a degree in Technical Journalism, Morrison was a television news reporter and anchor, a career she continued after moving to Portland in 1989. In addition to exploring the rapidly expanding beer culture in Portland, she began home brewing with her husband and soon joined the Oregon Brew Crew. Soon this personal interest or avocation turned into a career when she started to write about beer for local and national publications, and then later a radio show where she interviewed people from all aspects of the brewing community. Morrison talks about her process for identifying and chronicling beer culture, experiences as a woman in the journalism and brewing industries, beer education/appreciation classes she taught (including Sud Sisters, Barleys Angels), experiences mentoring and encouraging exploration of styles, and her impact on the industry, as well as her work establishing well-known festivals like PDX Beer Week, Craft Beer Month, and Fred Fest. The interview was conducted on March 15, 2017 by Tiah Edmunson-Morton at Belmont Station in Portland, Oregon.

Bill Coleman oral history interview, March 8, 2017. 02:21:44

Bill Coleman is part of a large multigenerational hop growing family, primarily based in St. Paul and Mt. Angel. In his interview Coleman talks about his family’s history with hops in the Willamette Valley, growing up in a farming family, jobs he did as a child and adult, and the strong work ethic and values that were part of his upbringing. He also talks about the rapid expansion of farm land his family experienced in the 1950s through 1970s, the locations of the farms throughout the counties of the Valley, business relationships with other farming families and the monks at Mt. Angel Abbey, labor history and changes over time, and technologies he developed to improve efficiencies. He addresses the roles of different family members in current company structure, how to hand down knowledge through generations, and how they value communication. He shares his thoughts on his own travels and the value he places on meeting new people and appreciating the place he is from. This interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton at Bill Coleman's sister's house in Mt. Angel, Oregon on March 8, 2017. Also present was Coleman's sister Jane Wavra and great niece Michelle McKay.

Mark McKay oral history interview, March 8, 2017. 01:35:37

Mark McKay is a sixth generation hop grower in St. Paul, Oregon. In his interview, McKay talks about his family history, growing up on the farm, crops they have grown, why his dad got out of the hops business, and things he learned from his father and the community. He also talks about establishing a hop farm in Independence in the 1990s with his brother Dean, industry labor practices and regulations, the challenges of an evolving industry, agro-tourism, the impact of technology on farming, as well as his thoughts on the future of farming and his hopes for his children’s involvement in the industry. This interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton at McKay's house in St. Paul, Oregon on March 8, 2017. Also present was McKay's daughter, Michelle.

Nick Lorenz oral history interview, March 2, 2017. 00:56:26. 

Nick Lorenz is one of the founders and owners of Nectar Creek Mead, which opened up in October of 2012. In this interview, Lorenz discusses growing up with his brother Phillip in Corvallis, their early involvement in farming and value-added agriculture, and his individual interests in soccer and pottery. He then discusses how he decided to go to the University of Vermont studying ecological agriculture, his journey towards giving up soccer and the summer jobs he held as a raft guide and orchard staff member. In addition to this, Lorenz elaborates on his brother’s college education in apiculture/fermentation science and work in commercial beekeeping, and how those experiences lead to the opening of the meadery after years of planning to run a business together. Lorenz then details the growth Nectar Creek has experienced since starting, and how he incorporates his value of personal connection into their involvement in the community and their employment model. The interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton at the Nectar Creek Meadery in Corvallis, Oregon.

Jeff, Kathy and Gillian Tobin oral history interview, February 28, 2017. 02:35:01

Jeff, Kathy and Gillian Tobin are the owners of Mazama Brewing Company, which was founded in Corvallis, Oregon in 2012. In this interview, Jeff Tobin discusses his childhood in Michigan, being interested in both science and music at school, and how those interests lead him to studying electronic engineering at Michigan Technical University. He also discusses how he and his wife Kathy were introduced to home brewing by peers at the university, and how they developed their skills in German styles. Jeff then recounts his career path from International Business Machines (IBM) in Vermont to Hewlett Packard (HP) in Colorado and Corvallis, Oregon, noting the birth of his children, Gillian and Riley, during that time. Kathy then joins the interview and she, along with Gillian and Jeff, discuss how they decided to open Mazama brewing, the importance of community involvement and the overlap between their relationships as family and business partners. The interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton at the Mazama Brewing taproom in Corvallis, Oregon.

Jeffrey Clawson oral history interview, February 27, 2017. 02:17:31

Jeff Clawson has worked for the Department of Food Science and Technology as the research brewery and food processing manager since 1993. In his interview, Clawson talks about growing up in Davis, California, where his father was a University of California Extension Agent and his mom worked as a department admin assistant. He also shares his early memories of Davis, thoughts on campus and city culture, and his decision to move to Oregon to attend Eastern Oregon College (now Eastern Oregon University) in LaGrande, where he studied Agribusiness. It was in college that Clawson took a class in brewing, which became a personal hobby and ultimately led to a career. He talks about transferring to OSU to finish his BS, adding a food science minor and working with Mina McDaniel on sensory analysis; about working for NORPAC Foods in Stayton after graduation; about returning to OSU for graduate school in 1991 to study Rangeland Resources and Water Quality; and finally about returning to the food sciences in 1993. Clawson talks about the gift from James Bernau that facilitated building the pilot research brewery and establishing the Nor'Wester endowed professorship, the evolution of the program, and the future of brewing education at OSU. This interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton at the Valley Library in Corvallis, Oregon on February 27, 2017. 

Aaron Sarnoff-Wood oral history interview, February 24, 2017. 01:45:31

Sarnoff-Wood is one of the co-founders of 2 Towns Ciderhouse in Corvallis, Oregon. In this interview, Sarnoff-Wood talks about growing up in Corvallis, his early interest in art and graphic design, attending the University of Oregon, work in the graphic design industry, and the decision to open a cider-making company with Lee Larsen. Sarnoff-Wood also reflects on the evolution and growth of the cider industry, as well as how the company has changed with its increase in size. This interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton at 2 Towns Ciderhouse in Corvallis, Oregon on February 24, 2017. 

Hilda Stevens oral history interview, February 22, 2017. 01:58:10

Hilda Stevens owns Bazi Bierbrasserie, a Belgian-style beer taproom and soccer bar in SE Portland. In her interview, Stevens talks about immigrating from Guatemala when she was 8 years old, living and going to school in The Woodlands (a community north of Houston, Texas), attending St Mary's  University in San Antonio, her early work with business and marketing companies, experiences traveling through the US and internationally, and her work establishing Bazi. This interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton at Bazi Bierbrasserie in Portland Oregon on February 22, 2017. 

Dr. Nathan Kirk oral history interview, February 21, 2017. 01:01:19

Dr. Nathan Kirk is a teaches in OSU's Department of Integrative Biology, specializing in Marine Ecology. In this interview, Dr. Kirk talks about growing up in New York state, his early research interests and education, his experiences in his graduate program at State University of New York at Buffalo and doctoral program at Auburn University (Alabama). He also talks about his experiences as a home brewer, specifically as it related to the culture in Alabama and his own brewing practices. This interview was conducted by Gillian Bergmann and Tiah Edmunson-Morton in Cordley Hall on OSU's campus on February 21, 2017. 

David Takush oral history interview, February 20, 2017. 01:12:43

Dave Takush is the head cider maker at 2 Towns Ciderhouse in Corvallis, Oregon. In his interview, Takush talks about growing up in Corvallis, his undergraduate and graduate studies in Fermentation Science and Oenology at OSU (BS 2007, MS 2009), and his work as a winemaker in Eugene. Takush also shares information about New World (modern) apple and Traditional (heritage) apples, specifically as it relates to their commitment as a business to bring back the traditional cider style, concerns over cider apple supply, experiences finding and grafting new varieties of apple trees, opportunities to work with both local orchardists and the local community, and the importance of agricultural history. Takush also talks about the early company history, working with Lee Larsen and Aaron Sarnoff-Wood, and the company culture. This interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton at 2 Towns Ciderhouse on February 20, 2017. 

Lee Larsen oral history interview, February 20, 2017. 00:26:57

Lee Larsen is one of the founders of 2 Towns Ciderhouse in Corvallis, Oregon. In this interview, he talks about growing up in Corvallis and experiences living in Barcelona, Spain during high school. Specifically, Larsen reflects on the cultural differences around the drinking and production of alcohol in Spain and the U.S., as well as his early exposure to the astringent Basque ciders he encountered. Larsen also talks about his time at OSU studying Finance (BS 2008) and his early interest in home brewing. Larsen ends the interview talking about establishing  2 Towns with Aaron Sarnoff-Wood in 2010, the addition of Dave Takush in 2011, and the company culture. This interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton at 2 Towns Ciderhouse on February 20, 2017. 

Dr. Thomas Shellhammer oral history interview, February 14th, 2017. 01:33:32

Dr. Thomas Shellhammer is the Nor’Wester Professor of Fermentation Science and is an internationally recognized expert in hops chemistry. In this interview he talks about growing up in San Jose, early memories of his father's work as a field biologist studying fire ecology and his mother's work as an arts educator, and his early interest in the sciences. He also discusses his food and fermentation sciences education at UC Davis, internships or work experiences during his path from BS to PhD, and early impressions of Oregon State's Food and Fermentation program. Shellhammer also discusses topics such as the demographics of the industries over time, as well as his observations of the industry's patterns of growth and contraction. This interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton at Weigand Hall on OSU's campus on February 14, 2017. 

Cheryl Gillson oral history interview, January 19, 2017. 0:47:18

Cheryl Gillson works as a marketing and manager at Rogue Farms in Independence, Oregon. In her interview, Gillson talks about growing up in California, working as Jack Joyce's assistant at Rogue Ales & Spirits, traveling and living abroad, and returning to Rogue to work on their farm in Independence as a "beer farmer." She talks extensively about the crops they grow, and the impact learning about farming has had on her life. This interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton and Michelle McKay in Bend, Oregon at the Hop Growers of America Conference on January 19, 2017. 

Brian Crosby oral history interview, January 18, 2017. 01:27:47

Brian Crosby is a fourth generation Crosby hop family member, and works as an accounts manager. In his interview, Crosby talks extensively about the family farm and relationships, including how he learned about farm operations and the impact of mechanization on the industry. He also discusses more current topics, such as the shift towards Salmon-Safe Certified farming practices and innovative processing techniques. Crosby served in the US Navy, retuning from service to attend Oregon State University 1984-1988, receiving his BS in Civil Engineering and playing in the the Oregon State Rugby Club while in school. He was a commercial construction manager before returning to the farm business. This interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton and Michelle McKay in Bend, Oregon at the Hop Growers of America Conference on January 18, 2017. 

Don Norton oral history interview, January 18, 2017. 01:09:16

Don Norton is the owner of Norton Hop Farm, a small organic hop farm established in Goshen, Oregon in 2008. In his interview, Norton talks about growing up in the Eugene area, experiences installing and running his 1-acre farm, and work with an herbal supply company. Norton also addresses some of his concerns as a small grower, including outlets for selling his product and expansion. This interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton and Michelle McKay in Bend, Oregon at the Hop Growers of America Conference on January 18, 2017.  

2016 OHBA oral histories

Rick Allen is the owner and head brewer at Heater Allen. In his interview, Allen shares stories about his family's deep roots at OSU, dating to his grandmother and grandfather's time OAC in the 1910s and daughter's graduation in the 2000s. He also discusses his time as a student at OSU in the early 1970s, including the campus climate, student perspective on the administration, and campus traditions linked to his fraternity (Beta Theta Pi). After university, Allen took a position as an investment banker in Portland, with short moves to Washington and California for employment; he left that field in the early 2000s. An avid home brewer, Allen considered a second career as a vintner, but decided to open a brewery in 2007 in McMinnville, Oregon. In the latter part of his interview, Allen discusses the important influences on his brewing style, experiences operating a brewery in Oregon's wine country, and issues facing small breweries in 2016. The interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton on November 16, 2016 in McMinnville, Oregon.  
Kyle Almlie is a graduate teaching assistant in the chemistry department of Oregon State University, as well as a home brewer. In this interview, he compares living in Corvallis to growing up in Chico, California, his growing knowledge and passion for both teaching and chemistry, and the challenges of participating in beer and homebrew culture while also being gluten-free. Kyle also discusses the chemistry behind brewing gluten-free beers and different kinds of mead, the chemistry of alpha acids in hops, and how that all ties back into his experience as an analytical chemist. This past spring, Kyle won awards both for his work as a TA and for a poster about his work developing equipment for fluorescence spectroscopy in the Sean Burrows, and he also reflects on those experiences. The interview was conducted by Gillian Bergmann on October 27, 2016 in the Valley Library in Corvallis. Also present was Tiah Edmunson-Morton, director of the Oregon Hops and Brewing Archives.  
Sarah Pederson is the owner of Saravesa, a bar, bottle shop, and breweriana showroom in North Portland. In this interview she discusses growing up in a small town in Wisconsin, going to college in Minneapolis, living and working in Los Angeles, and moving to Portland. Pederson shares stories of her work doing Public Relations for a High Tech firm and working for her friend at the patisserie and bar Pix, as well as education at the American Brewer's Guild, early jobs at the breweries Hair of the Dog and the New Old Lompoc Bar, and opening of Saravesa in 2008. At the end of the interview, Pederson talks about being a woman working in a male dominated industry. The interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton on October 20, 2016 in Portland, Oregon.
Lisa Allen is a brewer at Heater Allen Brewing in McMinnville. In her interview, Allen discusses growing up in Tualatin; her junior year spent in Moraga, California; her experiences at OSU in the early 2000s, and her travels to New Zealand. After graduating, Allen worked in the wine industry, starting with harvest and then working in tasting rooms. In 2009, Allen left the wine industry to join her father at Heater Allen Brewing, which he'd opened in 2007 after a long career as an investment banker; Rick Allen joins the interview at the end to discuss the origins and operations of the brewery, especially their choice to focus on German lagers and pilsners. Allen also discusses her experiences as a woman in the brewing industry, as well as what it is like to brew in the middle of Oregon's wine country. The interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton on October 20, 2016 in McMinnville, Oregon.
Guy Seghetti worked as a USDA Hops and Essential Oils lab and agricultural technician at OSU from 1968-1977. In his interview, Seghetti talks about growing up in Corvallis, his time at University of Utah while pursuing a degree in Anthropology, and his experiences as a technician in Corvallis. Specifically, Seghetti provides personal observation about the breeding program, with anecdotes and details about this crucial time in hops history with the release of the Cascade and other hops in the 1970s. Seghetti left the program in 1977 to teach Social Science for Roseburg, Oregon, public schools; he retired in 2008. The interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton on October 6, 2016 in Roseburg, Oregon.
Blair Smith is the owner, orchardist, and cider-maker for Apple Outlaw. In his interview, Smith talks about growing up in Stockton, CA and his work as a software engineer in Livermore; moving to rural Oregon and learning about running an organic orchard; and the transition from non-alcoholic to hard cider. More generally, Blair talks about how his family has focused on community involvement and environmental responsibility. The interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton on October 5, 2016 at Apple Outlaw in Applegate, Oregon. Also present was Maureen Battistella, who works to document the Southern Oregon wine industry. 
Jennifer Kent is the brewer at the McMenamins Thompson Brewery & Public House. In her interview, Kent talks about her early childhood in Alaska and Colorado; memories of growing up in Newport, Oregon; her family and mother's art career; work in the food service industry; her career at McMenamins as a brewer; the art of brewing and brewing community in the region; and being a woman in a male dominated brewing industry.  The interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton on July 7, 2016 at the McMenamins Thompson Brewery & Public House in Salem, Oregon.
Sonia Marie Leikam owns Leikam Brewing with her husband, but also works full-time at the Oregon Jewish Community Foundation. In her interview, Leikam talks about growing up in the Bay Area, moving to Portland to attend Lewis & Clark College, the evolution of her Jewish faith, teaching in Portland area schools, starting the brewery (Community Supported Brewery, Kosher certified), balancing work and family, and her work as an educator and human rights advocate. The interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton on June 17, 2016 at the McMenamins Mission Theater in Portland.
Natalie Baldwin, brewer at Burnside Brewing, talks about growing up in Vail, Colorado, moving to Portland, and learning about brewing. Baldwin is known for pushing the boundaries of classic styles, and she addresses how her mentors in brewing have encouraged her experimentation. The interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton on June 17, 2016 at the McMenamins Mission Theater in Portland.
Emily Engdahl is the Executive Director of The Pink Boots Society. In her interview, Engdahl talks about the importance of an educational and outreach organization such as Pink Boots for women working in the brewing industries, as well as about growing up in Portland, creating PDX Beer Geeks and Oregon Beer Country, and her work as an artist and graphic designer. The interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton on June 17, 2016 at the McMenamins Mission Theater in Portland.
Mellie Pullman is a professor at Portland State University, where she is the Director of the Business of Craft Brewing Program. In this interview, Pullman talks about growing up in Chicago, traveling through the country and taking classes at The Evergreen State College before settling in Park City, Utah, where she became the first female brewmaster in the US at Schirf Brewing (1986). Pullman talks about what it was like to be a woman in male dominated industries, working at Cornell University, moving to Portland, and how her research focus shifted from food to beer. The interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton on June 17, 2016 at Pullman’s home in Portland.

Lee Hedgmon is a Portland-based home and commercial brewer. She is active in the Oregon Brew Crew (serving as their first female president in 2015), Ladies of Lager Ales, and Pink Boots Society, working to increase the number of women in brewing. In addition to brewing, in this interview Hedgmon talks about growing up in Portland, her work as a youth activist, experiences as a student at PCC and PSU, activism in the queer community, involvement with JobCorp in Astoria, work in the hotel industry in Portland, and graduate work in the University of Minnesota Feminist Studies program. She shares stories on her early homebrewing adventures and experiences, as well as her transition to paid positions at Coalition Brewing, Portland U Brew, FA Steinbarts, Pints, and Groundbreaker. The interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton on June 9, 2016 at The Valley Library in Corvallis.

Ted Cox oral history interview, June 7, 2016. 1:59:15

Theodore “Ted” Cox is the founder and owner of the Old World Deli complex in Corvallis, Oregon, which houses the Oregon Trail Brewery and several galleries in addition to the restaurant. In this interview, Cox discusses the events which led him to open the deli, including two stints with the Peace Corps. Cox also covers his time as a student, teacher and volleyball coach at Oregon State University and Linn Benton Community College, where he studied and taught physical education. A regional history aficionado, Cox shares several stories and anecdotes about Corvallis and Prohibition-era brewing practices. The interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton on June 7, 2016 at Cox’s home in Corvallis.

Chris Crabb oral history interview, June 2, 2016. 01:13:06

Chris Crabb is the public relations director of the Oregon Brewers Festival and owner of public relations firm Crabbsoup. In this interview, she discusses her work as public relations manager of multiple beer-related accounts, emphasizing the advent of social media and the importance—and enjoyment—of forging local networks. Having been involved with the Oregon Brewers Festival for more than twenty years, Crabb offers insight regarding the organization and atmosphere of the popular event. Crabb also recounts the cultural climates of Portland and Eugene during her adolescent and collegiate years. The interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton on June 2, 2016 at the City of Portland Archives and Records Management office.

Dana Garves oral history interview, February 19, 2016. 01:52:37

Dana Garves is a brewing chemist who owns and operates BrewLab, a company that provides chemical analyses for breweries, cideries, meaderies, and home brewers. In this interview, Garves talks about her early interest in studying Chemistry, her experiences attending the University of Oregon, her interest in STEM education for girls, her work at Ninkasi, and her decision to start her own company. Garves also talks at length about the Ninkasi Space Launch, a year long project that she was involved with as a chemist. The interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton on February 19, 2016 at Garves' lab in Eugene. 

John Annen oral history interview, February 10, 2016. 01:12:03

Oral history interview with John Annen, fourth generation hop grower in Mount Angel, Oregon. Annen talks about the farming history of his family, the hop growing community in Oregon and the Oregon Hop Commission, mechanization of harvesting and processing practices, labor, diversification of the hops varieties grown, and working with macro and craft brewers. The interview was conducted at the Annen Farm in Mount Angel on February 10, 2016 by Tiah Edmunson-Morton. Also present was Nancy Sites, administrator for the Oregon Hop Commission.  

2015 OHBA oral histories

John Harris oral history December 9, 2015 (**this interview is not available for online streaming) 01:54:55

Born and raised in Portland, brewer John Harris has worked in Oregon's oldest craft breweries. He was a brewer at McMenamins' Hillsdale Brewery & Public House and Cornelius Pass Roadhouse (1986-1988), was the first employee and head brewer at Deschutes Brewery in Bend (1988-1992), and ran the Full Sail South Waterfront Brewery in Portland (1992-2012) before opening Ecliptic Brewing in North Portland in 2013. In this interview Harris talks about growing up in Portland, attending Portland State University as a theater major, and working in the evolving craft industry for 30 years. This interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton on 12/09/2015 at Ecliptic Brewery, 825 N Cook St in Portland, Oregon.

Mick Flanagan oral history interview, November 18, 2015. 31:27

Mick Flanagan, a mechanic at BridgePort Brewing Company, has worked for the brewery since 1989. The interview was conducted at the BridgePort Brewing Company in Portland on November 18, 2016 by Tiah Edmunson-Morton.

Jeff Edgerton oral history interview, November 18, 2015. 01:10:53

Jeff Edgerton has been the master brewer at BridgePort Brewing Company since 2010. In this interview, he recounts his path from Blitz-Weinhard lab technician to BridgePort quality assurance manager and brewmaster. After earning a degree in microbiology at Oregon State University, Edgerton brought the practices of quality and consistency he learned at Blitz-Weinhard to the increasingly popular BridgePort Brewing in 1998. Edgerton explains the brewing industry as a “lifestyle career,” one which encouraged him to pursue further involvement with the Master Brewers Association and collaborate with OSU’s Fermentation Science students. The interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton on November 18, 2015 at BridgePort Brewing in Portland, Oregon.

Larry Sidor oral history interview, November 06, 2015. 01:54:35

Larry Sidor is the founder and brewmaster of Crux Fermentation Project, a brewery and tasting room in Bend, Oregon. A graduate of Oregon State University, Sidor allowed practicality to push him toward the food sciences—a decision which ultimately led to a prolonged passion for making wine and beer. In this interview, Sidor discusses the company culture and economic trends of his former places of employment: Olympia Brewing, hop merchant SS Steiner, and Deschutes Brewing. He stresses the need for trust and relationships in both the macro- and microbrewery settings, emphasizing the importance of maintaining a “farm to table mentality.” The interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton and Chris Peterson on November 6, 2015 in Corvallis, Oregon.

Joy Hoerner Rich oral history interview, May 20, 2015. 01:15:56

The daughter of OSU hops specialist G.R. Hoerner, Joy Hoerner Rich graduated from OSU in the 1940s with a degree in Home Economics. In this interview, Hoerner Rich describes the atmosphere of campus and the Corvallis area during World War II, emphasizing the influences of the draft and the proximity of Camp Adair. After graduation, Hoerner Rich and her husband moved to Roseburg, Oregon, where she spent several decades as a kindergarten teacher and early childhood education expert. Hoerner Rich also details the work habits and duties of her father during his time at OSU and Kasetsart University in Bangkok, Thailand. The interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton on May 20, 2015 at Hoerner Rich’s residence in Roseburg, Oregon.

Fred Bowman oral history interview, March 11, 2015. 01:38:30

Fred Bowman is the former owner and co-founder of Portland Brewing Company, one of Oregon's first post-Prohibition micro breweries. In this interview, Bowman discusses the biological and mechanical skills and interests that led him to found a brewery in Portland with Jim Goodwin and Art Larrance in 1986. Bowman talks at length about his life before Portland Brewing Co., detailing an extensive trip to Europe, his enlistment in the Army Reserves, and a 16-year stint working for a Volkswagen distributor. Bowman also discusses the challenges surrounding Portland Brewing Company's first years of operation, as well as his eventual decision to branch off as an independent consultant. The interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton at Bowman's home in Portland, Oregon.

Irene Firmat oral history interview, May 04, 2015. 01:23:42

Irene Firmat is the founder and CEO of Full Sail Brewing Company, located in Hood River, Oregon. In this interview, she recalls her childhood as a Cuban immigrant in New York and the changes that brought her to Oregon as a buyer for department store Meier & Frank. Firmat also recounts the creation of Full Sail Brewing (originally known as Hood River Brewing) and the process of crafting a company culture of mutual respect and collaboration. In addition, Firmat discusses former and projected market trends of the craft beer industry, emphasizing her desire to witness a return to the quality-driven production of Portland’s flagship breweries of the 1980s. This interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton on May 4, 2015 at the Full Sail Brewery in Hood River, Oregon.

Gary & Susan Wyatt oral history interview, February 18, 2015. 01:06:17

Gary and Susan Wyatt are the founders and owners of Tumalo Hops, a farm often regarded as the first of its kind in Central Oregon. After the economic downturn of the early 2000s, the Wyatts chose to utilize five acres of their land to grow hops, planting, cultivating, and harvesting everything by hand. In this interview, the Wyatts recount the recent economic and cultural changes of Bend, as well as the importance of capitalizing on locality when selling their product to craft and homebrewers. The Wyatts also address the growing trend of agro-tourism and the desire to stay successful yet small via the pooling of intellectual and tangible resources. The interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton and Miles Wilhelm on February 18, 2015 at the couple’s farm in Tumalo, Oregon. 

2014 OHBA oral histories

Alfred Haunold interview: The story of hops, November 18, 201401:32:42

Interview conducted by Shaun Townsend and Tiah Edmunson-Morton in Corvallis, Oregon on November 18, 2014. Haunold released the superstar hop varieties like Cascade, Willamette, Sterling, Liberty, Mt. Hood, and Santiam while he was with the USDA/ARS in Corvallis. During this interview he tells the story of the different hops he worked with, adding interesting details about people's personalities and technological advances. 

Matt Sage oral history interview, November 11, 2014. 01:29:47

Matt Sage is a craft brewer, vintner and hop consultant whose work has contributed to the creation and expansion of many small businesses across the Pacific Northwest. In this interview, Sage discusses his wine and beer brewing ventures, detailing the operations and company culture of businesses like Associated Vintners, BridgePort Brewing Company, Rock Bottom Restaurant & Brewery, Cameron Winery, and finally, Indie Hops (the position he held at the time of the interview). Sage focuses heavily on the production and use of beer ingredients, as well as contemporary market trends of the hop industry. The interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton at the Indie Hops offices in Portland, Oregon on November 11, 2014.

Shaun Townsend oral history interview, November 3, 2014. 01:37:37

Shaun Townsend is the OSU hop breeder. The interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton at the OSU Library in Corvallis, Oregon on November 3, 2014.

Teri Fahrendorf oral history interview, April 19, 2014. 01:58:07 

One of the first female brewers in the modern history of the Pacific Northwest, Teri Fahrendorf is internationally recognized for her success in brewing and her educational, networking efforts. In this interview, Fahrendorf describes her first forays into brewing, including an injury which pushed her northward from the Golden Gate and Triple Rock breweries of California to Steelhead Brewing in Eugene, Oregon. The interview discusses Fahrendorf’s later “road brew” trip in depth—an adventure which led to the creation of women-driven projects like the Pink Boots Society, Barley’s Angels and International Women’s Collaboration Brew Day. Throughout the narrative, Fahrendorf stresses the importance of education and art in the brewing industry, both past and present. The interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton on April 19, 2014 at Occidental Brewing Company in Portland, Oregon. Portions of the interview were used in the documentary history project “OHBA Stories.” 

Kurt and Rob Widmer interview, May 10, 2014. 01:03:10

Rob and Kurt Widmer are the founders of one of Oregon’s most recognizable breweries, Widmer Brothers Brewing. Based out of Portland, Oregon, the brothers’ brewery helped serve as a catalyst for the Pacific Northwest craft brew revolution. In this interview, the Widmers discuss their past and current relationships with regional brewers and the local community, crediting Portland’s pioneer heritage and adventurous drinking culture as keys to their success. The brothers also discuss pieces of their business model, which helped them weather challenges inherent to the industry. The interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton on May 10, 2014 at the Widmer Brothers Gasthaus Pub in Portland, Oregon. The video concludes with the filming of a tasting session. Portions of the footage were used in the documentary history project “OHBA Stories.” 

Thomas Shellhammer interview, May 07, 2014. 30:00

Thomas Shellhammer is the Nor’Wester Professor of Fermentation Science at OSU, where he runs a lab dedicated to the chemical and sensory analysis of hops. With his guidance, undergraduate and graduate students alike receive hands-on experience in the brewing process. In this interview, Shellhammer discusses his own path to research, as well as the trajectory of OSU’s Fermentation Science program within the Department of Food Science & Technology. Shellhammer also discusses aspects of the program related to funding and local collaborations. The interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton on May 7, 2014 at the brewing facilities in OSU’s Wiegand Hall in Corvallis, Oregon. Interview conducted at Wiegand Hall, OSU, Corvallis, OR by Tiah Edmunson-Morton. Portions of the footage were used in the documentary history project “OHBA Stories.” 

Shaun Townsend interview, May 07, 2014. 33:30

Shaun Townsend is the senior researcher leading Oregon State University’s Aroma Hop Breeding Program. The project, sponsored in conjunction with Indie Hops, focuses on developing experimental hop varieties which grow best in Oregon and contain aromatic properties conducive to craft brewing. In this interview, Townsend recalls the catalysts and challenges behind the program, as well as the scientific and physical processes involved in its maintenance. Townsend also discusses his role as an informational liaison to the general public in the absence of a hop-focused extension agent. Interview conducted at the OSU Experimental Hop Yard, Hwy 34, Corvallis, OR. Portions of the footage were used in the documentary history project “OHBA Stories.” 

Gayle Goschie interview, May 16, 2014. 01:06:16

Gayle Goschie is a third-generation hop grower and co-owner of Goschie Farms in Silverton, Oregon. She and her two brothers, Gordon and Glenn, grow hops, grapes, and other crops on land her family has cultivated for more than 100 years. In this interview, Goschie talks about the history of her family's farm and the changes that have occurred in hop growing practices due to technological advancements and economic trends. Goschie also addresses the value of a steady, loyal employee base, as well as the advent of the sustainable farming practices Goschie Farms is so recognized for. The interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton on May 16, 2014 on location at Goschie Farms.

Blake Crosby interview, May 16, 2014. 52:25

A fifth-generation hop grower, Blake Crosby owns and operates Crosby Hop Farm in Woodburn, Oregon with his father, Kevin. Since 1900, the Crosby family has grown a variety of aromatic and bittering hops. In this interview, Crosby briefly discusses the history of his family's farm before focusing on more recent changes wrought by the increasing demand of hops for craft brewing. Crosby also discusses potential market trajectories, as well as the importance of preserving agricultural history for future generations. The video concludes with a tour of the farm's pelletizer, the only machine of its kind on an Oregon farm at the time of production. The interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton and Korey Jackson on May 16, 2014 on location at Crosby Farms in Woodburn, Oregon.

Don Weathers oral history interview, September 24, 2014. 01:51:15

Don Weathers is a second-generation hop grower in the Willamette Valley, having owned and operated several farms throughout the state, many of which are now run by his children and grandchildren. In this interview, Weathers and his wife, Rosalie, recount the early years of their childhoods and marriage. The couple discusses post-World War II farming practices, as well as the changes to hop cultivation brought by increased mechanization. Weathers also briefly recounts the emergence of organizations like the Oregon Hop Commission and joint suppliers like Yakima Chief-Hopunion. The interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton on September 24, 2014 in the couple’s home in Keizer, Oregon.

Gail Nickerson oral history interview, August 6, 2014. 01:48:49

Gail Nickerson is a former chemist with the Department of Agriculture at Oregon State University, whose work was immensely influential in the global hop industry. In this interview, Nickerson discusses the series of event which led her to work in the research lab of USDA chemist Sam Likens. Nickerson discusses her move from dishwasher to published researcher, recounting the technology and methods utilized and developed by her research team. Of particular interest are Nickerson’s descriptions of hop analysis and the engineering of varieties beneath researcher Al Haunold. The interview was conducted by Peter Kopp and Tiah Edmunson-Morton on August 6, 2014 in Corvallis, Oregon.

Fred Eckhardt oral history interview, July 23, 2014. 01:49:47

Fred Eckhardt was a prominent beer writer and critic whose work includes seminal brewing texts like A Treatise on Lager Beer and The Essentials of Beer Style. In this interview, he describes the events of his early life, recounting his time spent in a children’s home in Washington and his years as a U.S. Marine. Upon moving to Portland, Eckhardt became deeply involved with the burgeoning homebrewing and craft brewing movements—environments which he describes in depth in this interview. Eckhardt also offers information about early Pacific Northwest breweries like Olympia, Red Hook, Widmer Brothers, and McMenamins. This interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton, Tim Hills, and John Foyston on July 23, 2014 in Portland, Oregon.

Warren Aney oral history interview, April 4, 2014. 45:07

Warren Aney is alum of Oregon State University who received his Master’s degree in the 1970s. He went on to work as a wildlife ecologist. Aney met Charles Coury when he moved to Oregon due to their mutual interest in wine. He joined Coury’s wine association as a non-grower member. There Aney helped run their winery tours. He also took Coury’s viticulture class at PCC in 1972-3. Aney was at the dedication of the Cartwright Brewery. When he and his family moved back to Portland in the early 1990s where he started working for a travel agency leading wine tours. Aney has written a paper accepted by the Ecological Society on Oregon’s wine climates in 1974. Warren Aney is also a wine enthusiast, and in his interview talks about his friendship with Charles Coury, brewer and proprietor of the short-lived Cartwright Brewing in Portland, Oregon. This interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton and Korey Jackson on April 4, 2014 at Aney's home in Portland, Oregon. 

John Foyston oral history interview, March 28, 2014. 01:26:51

John Foyston, former Oregonian beer columnist, shares his personal history in this interview, describing events that led him to write about Oregon’s emergent beer culture. Foyston recounts his time studying journalism at the University of Oregon, as well as the importance of influences like the Vietnam War and music upon his career path. After owning a motorcycle shop, Foyston was an Arts & Entertainment freelance journalist, tracking the immense growth and changes of the Portland craft beer industry. The interview was conducted by Peter Kopp, Tiah Edmunson-Morton, and Tim Hills on March 28, 2014 in Portland, Oregon.

Blake Crosby oral history interview, March 27, 2014. 56:52

A fifth-generation hop grower, Blake Crosby owns and operates Crosby Hop Farm in Woodburn, Oregon with his father, Kevin. Since 1900, the Crosby family has grown a variety of aromatic and bittering hops on their land. In this interview, Crosby traces the trajectory of his family’s farming and business practices. Crosby also discusses his personal connection to hop growing and his interest in the changing dynamics of the craft brew-driven industry in Oregon. Crosby believes the industry’s new focus on quality and stewardship has helped bridge the urban-rural divide between consumers and growers. The interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton on March 7, 2014 on location at Crosby Hop Farm in Woodburn, Oregon. 

Carole Ockert oral history interview, March 1, 2014. 01:24:06

Carole Ockert describes the “brewing adventure” she and her husband, renowned brewer Karl Ockert, have shared, from the European backpacking trip of their youth to the extensive success of BridgePort Brewing Company. Ockert also discusses the sense of community and camaraderie that surrounded the first few Portland brewers of the 1980s. As BridgePort and its neighbors experienced growth, so too did the community’s relationships, purpose, and goals. The interview was conducted by Tiah Edmunson-Morton on March 1, 2014 at the residence of Carole and Karl Ockert in Lake Oswego, Oregon.