- Borrow & Request
- Meet & Study Here
- Tech & Print
Oregon Hops and Brewing Archives, established in 2013, is the first in the U.S. dedicated to collecting, preserving, and sharing materials that tell the story of Northwest brewing. We focus on materials related the regional hops and barley farming, craft and home brewing, cider, mead, and the OSU research that dates to the 1890s.
Cornerstones for the archives are the papers of world renowned beer historian Fred Eckhardt; the records of the Oregon Hop Growers Association; extensive industry periodicals and book collections; and research reports on plant disease, breeding, and processing. The archives also include oral histories with growers, brewers, and scientists; homebrew club newsletters; industry periodicals; photographs; memorabilia; and advertising materials and art from breweries throughout the state.
At its core, OHBA is a community archiving project. We work with the people who changed the face of an industry and set in motion a movement, so let's work together to keep our history local! We are actively seeking materials pertaining to growing and brewing history. You can learn more about what we collect at http://bit.ly/ohbacollect.
On this page you'll learn about the Oregon Hops and Brewing Collections, as well as related resources, but you also can visit our site at http://scarc.library.oregonstate.edu/ohba.html for history and administrative information.
Make sure to follow The Brewstorian blog for up-to-date information regarding current projects, new collections, recently digitized materials, et. al.
The Oregon Hops and Brewing Archives is housed at the OSU Library in the Special Collections and Archives Research Center, and is open to all researchers.
121 The Valley Library
Corvallis OR 97331–4501