Skip to main content
Oregon State University OREGON STATE UNIVERSITY

OSU Libraries

1Search (library search system)

What is 1Search?

1Search combines the OSU Libraries 'library catalog," Summit and many of our online databases into one search engine. 1Search is a good starting point for your research. The 1Search interface looks a little different now but it functions very much the same way.

1Search helps you locate:

  • Books owned by OSU Libraries (including Guin, Cascades, Vet Med)
  • Books owned by other libraries in the Pacific-Northwest
  • Full-text online  journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Journals the OSU Libraries owns in print
  • Media (videos, DVDs, CD, recordings, etc)
  • Course reserves materials
  • Materials in our Special Collections and Archives

You can "scope"  your search to find

  • Books, media and articles- This includes the OSU Libraries materials, Summit and articles.
  • At OSU Libraries - Materials owned by OSU Libraries. This is similar to our library catalog.
  • OSU Libraries + Summit - This scope combines the OSU Libraries materials and those of the 27 libraries in the Summit system. Once Summit is integrated into our new 1Search in early 2015, materials at the Summit libraries can be requested and sent to the OSU Libraries for pick up.
  • OSU Cascades - Search items in the OSU-Cascades collection in Bend. Please note this does not include the COCC collections. You can request materials from Bend using the Request option.
  • Special Collections & Archives - Unique collections of manuscripts, archives, photographs, books and more
  • Articles - Search the collections from many of the electronic resources and databases to which OSU subscribes

The new 1Search is one part of a complete search

1Search does not include all the content from specialized databases to which OSU subscribes. For discipline-specific searching, use the OSU Libraries' Research Databases or check the Research Guides.

Where is 1Search?

You can access 1Search on the library home page in the top right corner of the screen.

Why do I need to sign in?

After you enter a search in 1Search on the OSU Libraries' home page, you will be asked to sign in.

We are encouraging you to sign in before you see your search results so you can get the full benefit of the new 1Search.

  1. You can save searches and items to your e-shelf. They'll still be there when you sign in the next time. If you go in as Guest, you can put things on your e-shelf but only temporarily. Once you exit 1Search, they will be gone.

  2. There is some content from online journals and ebooks that will not display unless you are signed in. The publishers/vendors make this requirement. If you want to search the breadth of our online content, you will want to sign in.

You can always log in later in the top right corner of the screen but you'll want to rerun your search to get the maximum benefit.

What if I'm off-campus?

You'll still be able to get to all the resources available. Just like before, you will be asked to enter your ONID information at some point. That will give you access to the articles and books and services like Interlibrary Loan.

Can I request materials from other libraries?

Absolutely! When you see an item that shows Request this item, that means the item is either checked out or OSU Libraries does not own it. Click on the Availability & Request tab and then click on Request.

What databases are included in 1Search?

This is the list of databases that have been activated in 1Search as of October 2014.  Please note that this list is subject to change.