Maps

• Oregon Explorer: mapping tools, premade maps.
  • The Imagery Explorer includes 2005 .5m orthoimagery for the state.
• Oregon Map (ORMAP) 
  • The ORMAP project is developing a statewide property tax parcel base map that is digital, publicly accessible, and continually maintained, to help and improve the administration of the property tax system. It also will allow public and private organizations to support a wide variety of GIS (geographic information system) applications.
• The National Map (USGS) includes USTopo (the current topos) and Historical Topographic Map Collection
• National Park Service: digital maps (JPG and PDF) for parks throughout the U.S.

Nautical Charts

• Office of Coast Survey: Find Nautical Charts  raster navigational and electronic navigational charts from NOAA (USA only)
• Digital Nautical Chart (DNC) for download (.rtp files) from National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency [NOTE: this site has periodic access problems]

Electronic Atlases on the Web

• Oregon Coastal Atlas (OCA), a multigroup collaboration hosted by OSU. The Oregon Ocean-Coastal Management Program, Oregon State University and Ecotrust are creating an interactive map, data, and metadata portal for coastal resources managers and scientists, with additional outreach sections for the general public.
• Oregon Plant Atlas: Flora of Oregon from OSU Dept. of Botany & Plant Pathology

Aerial Imagery

• Oregon Explorer Imagery Portal. The Oregon Imagery Explorer serves Oregon's 2005 half-meter orthoimagery reconstructed from aerial photographs acquired in the summer of 2005. Other imagery including satellite data is also served. The original Oregon 2005 half-meter orthoimagery is in Digital Orthophoto Quadrangle (DOQ) format and has a spatial resolution of a half-meter.

Weather and Climate

• Oregon Climate Service
  • The state climate office for Oregon; located in the College of Earth, Ocean, and Atmospheric Sciences (CEOAS) at OSU and housed at the Oregon Climate Change Research Institute. OCS is the go-to source for weather and climate information in the state of Oregon.
• U.S. National Weather Service (NOAA)
• The Weather Channel a private corporation with international weather coverage

Geographic Names

• U.S. Board on Geographic Names: Geographic Names Information System (GNIS) from the U.S. Geological Survey; established by Public Law in 1947 to maintain uniform geographic name usage throughout the Federal Government
• NGA GEOnet Names Server (GNS) for foreign geographic names

Federal Map Resources

• Bureau of Land Management (BLM)
  • Connect to individual states' websites through https://www.blm.gov/locations
• CIA maps
• CIA World Factbook (including country maps)
• FEMA Flood Map Service Center
• National Park Service  Find your park by state. There is a link by each park entry for maps.
• National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
• National Wetlands Inventory - Wetlands Mapper
• U.S. Forest Service (USFS)
• USGS Store: Map Locator and Downloader (U.S. Geological Survey)

  • The official US Topo Quadrangle maps are now online (7.5-minute quadrangle topographic maps), and are updated every 3 years.When updated, the previous online (legacy) quads are then moved into the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.

  • There's a new Fact Sheet, Scanning and Georeferencing Historical USGS quadrangles Fact Sheet 2017-3048 available, https://pubs.usgs.gov/fs/2017/3048/fs20173048.pdf​

  • Scanned images of paper maps up through 2006 are also available for free download from The National Map 

    • ESRI has developed a cool tool, the Historical USGS Topographic Map Explorer that allows you to overlay geo-referenced maps (and increase/decrease the transparency).  The interface includes a timeline from which you can easily select the maps you want to view for a given location.

Demographic Map Data

• American FactFinder (AFF) is public access to Census data, which includes reference maps and the ability to map the tables you create
• U.S. Census Bureau Interactive Maps

International Maps and Data Sources

• Agro-MAPS: Global Spatial Database of Agricultural Land-use Statistics from the Food & Agriculture Organization (FAO) of the United Nations (Adobe Flash plugin required)
• Global Administrative Areas (.shp, .dra, .mif formats) public domain basic map data concerning administrative boundaries in Africa. Hosted by the University of Waterloo (Waterloo, Ontario, Canada)

Map Publishers and Distributors

• List of map publishers and distributors, maintained by the University of Oregon MAP Library