LibGuides: *Forestry*: Data, Maps, Images

Forest Maps and Datasets

Links to imagery and GIS data and maps for Oregon and the US can be found using the links below.

H.J. Andrews LTER Data Catalog
Data sets consist of long-term research study data, spatial data, and analytical tools including software and models.
Aerial Coverage of Oregon's National Forests
A guide to the aerial photos covering the national forests in Oregon at the University of Oregon Map Library.
Oregon Department of Forestry Maps
Maps developed for the Forest Atlas use Geographic Information Systems (GIS) data obtained by the U.S. Forest Service PNW Research Station, data from Oregon State University and data gathered and maintained by the Oregon Department of Forestry.
USFS Maps and Brochures
Provides links to map resources for the public (e.g. general guides, national forests, etc.)
USFS Active Fire Maps
Current fire locations provided by the National Interagency Coordination Center
Numerical Terradynamic Simulation Group (NTSG)
The primary focus of NTSG is to understand how terrestrial vegetation responds to climate variability and influences energy, water and carbon cycles. NTSG conducts research over a broad range of spatial scales from individual landscape units to basin, continental and global domains. NTSG has strong emphasis in the application of ecological theory and environmental analysis using omputational process modeling, satellite remote sensing and GIS.
BLM GIS Data by Catagory for OR/WA
The GIS data of the BLM in OR/WA consist of 1) statewide or regional data captured at a scale of 1:100,000 (or smaller) and 2) Framework, or base, data captured at the 1:24,000 scale (or larger) that have been built and maintained by OR/WA BLM 3) Data cover mostly BLM-managed lands with some private lands included.
National Land Cover Database (USDI)
The Multi-Resolution Land Characterization (MRLC) consortium is a group of federal agencies who coordinate and generate consistent and relevant land cover information at the national scale for a wide variety of environmental, land management, and modeling applications. The creation of this consortium has resulted in the mapping of the lower 48 United States, Hawaii, Alaska and Puerto Rico into a comprehensive land cover product termed, the National Land Cover Database (NLCD), from decadal Landsat satellite imagery and other supplementary datasets.

Data Management

"Data" in the context of the NSF funding includes access to the research publications resulting from grants. While your thesis/dissertation will be preserved and available to all via the ScholarsArchive@OSU, be sure to consider this when signing copyright transfer agreements with journal publishers.

As of 2011, the NSF has required that all grant applications include a separate data management plan (DMP). These are likely to become a requirement of all publicly funded research. While you may not have exclusive responsibility for managing your research data, thinking about how these data will be described, preserved, and made available to others in the future is better considered early in the research process. Contact the OSU Libraries' Data Management Specialist, Dr. Clara Llebot Lorente, to help you think through the issues associated with your research data management at OSU.

Learn more about data management planning.

Images about forests and forestry

Listed below are links to sites that provide images for foretry related topics. If you use an image from the internet, be sure that you check the conditions of use and provide your audience image credit information.

Forestry Images
"Forestry Images is a grant-funded project, we must generate documentation to justify continued funding. If we can document sufficient usage by a variety of user groups, we believe that the funding agency will enable us to evolve Forestry Images as an educational and service outreach at no cost to you." They ask, however, that you register when using the site in order to documentits use more effectively.
Fritz-Metcalf Photograph Collection
Newly digitized photograph collection from Emanuel Fritz and Woodbridge Metcalf (among the first faculty of the UC Berkeley School of Forestry. the collection covers forestry, conservation, and the lumber industry in California and the United States primarily from 1910-1960.
The Gerald W. Williams Collection (OSU)
In 2007 the OSU Libraries acquired the Gerald W. Williams Collection, consisting of the collected historic photographs, personal papers, and research library of Gerald "Jerry" Williams, former national historian for the U.S. Forest Service. Williams, a native Oregonian, spent much of his Forest Service career in the Pacific Northwest, prior to being appointed national historian in 1998.
Natural Fuels Digital Photo Series
A web-based project to provide enhanced access to the 16 volume Natural Fuels Photo Series data in electronic form using a database to enable searching, downloading, and eventually side-by-side comparisons and customized site generation.
Siuslaw National Forest Collection
The Siuslaw National Forest (SNF) collection contains nearly 5,000 digital images from the late 1800s to the present that reflect changing forest management practices, landscapes, and people over the course of Siuslaw National Forest history.
UC-Berkeley Electronic Images Library
Provides links to many bio and environmental science collections and search engines for locating images.

Libraries

Forestry

Forest Maps and Datasets

Data Management

Images about forests and forestry

Contact Info

In the Valley Library

Digital Projects

Branches