Skip to main content

Nuclear History in the Special Collections and Archives Research Center

Historical primary sources on nuclear history and atomic energy

E. Dale Trout Papers, 1939-1983:

The E. Dale Trout Papers consist of materials created and assembled by Trout and his colleague, John P. Kelley, regarding research on X-ray equipment, diagnostic radiology, and the administration of the X-Ray Science and Engineering Laboratory at Oregon State University. Trout and Kelley were faculty in the OSU Department of General Science beginning in the 1960s.

Radiation Safety

Many sources in the collections cover topics in radiation saftey, including radiation hazards and monitoring, occupational health and safety, nuclear accidents, nuclear waste, and radioactive fallout.

Suggested library catalog keywords and subject headings: radiation safety, accident*, nuclear waste, fallout, radiation--safety measures, Hanford.

The full list of radiation safety items in the History of Atomic Energy Collection, including uncataloged items, is here.

Hanford Site Forty-Year Environmental Data Collection, 1943-1986

The Hanford Site Forty-Year Environmental Data Collection, 1943-1986 contains a series of government documents and internal technical reports the focus of which is environmental monitoring at the Hanford Site, a nuclear production complex in southeast Washington that was constructed beginning in 1943 and fully decommissioned in 1987. Included among the collection's environmental monitoring reports are documents related to effluent releases into the environment, both planned and unplanned.

Barton C. Hacker Papers, 1955-1995

 

The Barton C. Hacker Papers, 1955-1995 document Hacker’s career as a historian of radiation safety, and primarily consist of materials related to his service as historian to the Department of Energy’s (DOE) Dosimetry Research Project, beginning in 1979. The collection also contains general research materials, committee documents, and conference proceedings and papers.

Radiation Center Records, 1969-2000

The Radiation Center Records consist of annual reports for the Radiation Center and TRIGA Reactor at Oregon State University. Nuclear research and education began at OSU soon after World War II and a nuclear reactor was constructed on the Corvallis campus in the mid-1960s. A 2013 new accession to this collection is forthcoming.