American Men & Women of Science is a biographical directory that profiles living persons in the physical and biological fields, as well as public health scientists, engineers, mathematicians, statisticians, and computer scientists.
Thanks to the generosity of OSU Libraries’ donors, we have been able to acquire the online version of Early English Books Online (EEBO). From the first book published in English in 1473 through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, EEBO contains the full text and images from more than 125,000 titles. This resource is useful for researchers in English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science. It includes the works of Shakespeare, Bacon, Newton, and many other authors, both famous and obscure. The materials include prayer books, calendars, royal statutes, musical exercises, broadsides, and pamphlets. Users can search by author (e.g., Chaucer), keyword (e.g., herbal), subject (e.g., Brain—Anatomy—Early works), material type (e.g., Maps), and language (e.g., Algonquin).
Gartner provides relevant IT industry research and insight that empowers groups across campus to make informed technology-related decisions. With the help of of 1,200 research analysts and consultants who advise executives in 75 countries every day, Gartner is able to publish tens of thousands of pages of original research annually. Institutional administration, technology decision-makers, and technology business professionals will find much value in the depth and breadth of IT information Gartner provides.
Only available for OSU Staff/Faculty and currently enrolled OSU Students.
Independent Voices is a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Index Islamicus Online is THE international classified bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. It contains over 500,000 records, covering all the main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, as well as Muslims living elsewhere, and their history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages and literatures. Index Islamicus includes material published by Western scholars in the fields of Humanities and Social Sciences, specialist area- and subject-based areas, and by Muslims writing in European languages.
Kanopy is a streaming video resource with a collection of over 26,000 films on every subject imaginable and from leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, HBO California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, BBC, First Run Features, The Video Project, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Education Resources. Kanopy’s website makes it easy to watch, share and discuss films across campus.
OregonFlora, the Oregon Flora Project website, presents information about the ~4,650 vascular plants of Oregon. Interactive mapping of plant occurrences (>540,000 records), a photo gallery (>46,000 images), and a checklist of plants and their nomenclature provide curated biodiversity information for plant scientists, restorationists, land managers, natural resource policy makers, and native plant gardeners. Plant occurrence data are from herbarium specimens, unvouchered observations, and field photographs.
SHARE is a higher education initiative whose mission is to maximize research impact by making a comprehensive inventory of research widely discoverable, accessible, and reusable. To fulfill this mission SHARE is creating an openly available data set about research activities across their life cycle. SHARE is a partnership between the Association of Research Libraries (ARL) and the Center for Open Science (COS), underwritten in part by generous funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) and the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation.
The HeinOnline collection contains legal materials on slavery in the United States and western countries. Scholars will find judicial cases, statutes, essays, scholarly articles that date back to the 19th century through the modern history of slavery. Also included are ebooks and pamphlets. This is a collection critical to any scholar looking to find historical material on legal, economic and social aspects on the subject.
For more information about the Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law collection or its search features, please visit https://home.heinonline.org/content/Slavery-in-America-and-the-World-History-Culture--Law/
The Littman Library of Jewish Civilization, is a 90 volume, and growing, collection of Jewish heritage and history published by the Littman Association since 1965. The collection includes international perspectives on Jewish civilization from the USA, Israel, Germany, Poland and the UK with work from leading scholars such as Anthony Polonsky, Rachel Elior, Menachem Kellner, and Ada Rapoport-Albert.
The Western Waters Digital Library provides free public access to a wide range of key archival holdings related to water policy and environmental history in the western United States from 29 participating institutes and libraries. Available resources include classic water literature, legal transcripts, maps, reports, personal papers, water project records, photographs, audio recordings, videos and other material.