Skip to main content
Oregon State University OREGON STATE UNIVERSITY

OSU Libraries

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Legend

Must login with ONID to access
Open to all users
New Newly acquired database
Best Bet Recommended database for this discipline
Full text access available
Create a link to this database

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
  • Must login with ONID to access
Trial
African American Communities focuses on race relations across social, political, cultural and religious issues. Specific topics covered include racism, discrimination, desegregation, urban renewal and housing, civil rights movements and protests, community integration and artistic expression. Relevant pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth Oral Histories, thematic Image and 360 Object Galleries reveal the African American experience in such places as Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina.

This OSU Trial runs through 3/31/2017
  • Must login with ONID to access
Trial
This OSU trial will be available until March 31, 2017.

American Indian Histories and Cultures presents a unique view into interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact, continuing through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, right up to the civil rights movement of the mid-twentieth century. Explore the consequent political, social and cultural impact on American Indian life against the backdrop of an ever-expanding western frontier through many rare original documents, including: manuscripts, artwork, photographs, maps, printed materials and newspapers. Use the fully searchable interactive chronology to discover fascinating facts and events in American Indian history; explore key events and movements across North America with interactive maps; and view visual resources through galleries and exhibitions.
  • Must login with ONID to access
  • Full text access available
New
American Men & Women of Science is a biographical directory that profiles living persons in the physical and biological fields, as well as public health scientists, engineers, mathematicians, statisticians, and computer scientists.
  • Must login with ONID to access
Trial
This OSU trial will be available until March 31, 2017.

American West is a digital resource containing the history of the development of the West as well as its enduring legacies. From the earliest, pioneering expeditions that discovered and mapped the West to the growth of industry and settlements, through a range of rare and important documents it is possible to explore the commercial, cultural and social factors that made the West what it was and is. Through Items such as maps, manuscripts, journals, rare printed books, periodicals, photographs and more, the appeal of the 'wild' West to explorers, emigrants and workers is brought to life. The development of the popular image of the West can be charted with material depicting the 'Wild West' shows, famous outlaws and pioneer personalities, while the clash of cultures that was often a feature of life in the burgeoning United States is represented through a wealth of documents relating to the Mormon exodus and Native American contact. Within this resource you can use the chronology and data maps to discover fascinating facts and events in the history of the American West and view visual resources in searchable galleries.
  • Must login with ONID to access
  • Full text access available
New
Thanks to the generosity of OSU Libraries’ donors, we have been able to acquire the online version of Early English Books Online (EEBO). From the first book published in English in 1473 through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, EEBO contains the full text and images from more than 125,000 titles. This resource is useful for researchers in English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science. It includes the works of Shakespeare, Bacon, Newton, and many other authors, both famous and obscure. The materials include prayer books, calendars, royal statutes, musical exercises, broadsides, and pamphlets. Users can search by author (e.g., Chaucer), keyword (e.g., herbal), subject (e.g., Brain—Anatomy—Early works), material type (e.g., Maps), and language (e.g., Algonquin).
  • Must login with ONID to access
Trial
The First World War is a rich resource for learning about the Great War. Explore a variety of information on personal experiences, propaganda, and the war’s events through such materials as personal narratives, diaries, newspapers, posters, postcards, photographs, printed books, military and government files, ephemera, artwork, personal artifacts and film. Explore Interactive Maps, a multi-faceted Chronology Interface, and an expansive Visual Images Gallery for a rich experience of this complex historical event.

This OSU Trial runs through 3/31/2017
  • Must login with ONID to access
  • Full text access available
New
Gartner provides relevant IT industry research and insight that empowers groups across campus to make informed technology-related decisions. With the help of of 1,200 research analysts and consultants who advise executives in 75 countries every day, Gartner is able to publish tens of thousands of pages of original research annually. Institutional administration, technology decision-makers, and technology business professionals will find much value in the depth and breadth of IT information Gartner provides.
New Popular
Kanopy is a streaming video resource with a collection of over 26,000 films on every subject imaginable and from leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, HBO California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, BBC, First Run Features, The Video Project, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Education Resources. Kanopy’s website makes it easy to watch, share and discuss films across campus.
  • Must login with ONID to access
  • Full text access available
Trial
Passport is a global market research database providing insight on industries, economies and consumers worldwide, helping you to analyze market context and identify future trends impacting businesses globally. Videos and guides help you navigate the database.
  • Must login with ONID to access
  • Full text access available
New Popular
PressReader delivers an endless stream of top news stories to read, discuss and share. Get full issues of thousands of top magazines and newspapers, just as they appear in print.
  • Must login with ONID to access
Trial
  • Must login with ONID to access
  • Full text access available
New
  • Must login with ONID to access
Trial
Victorian Popular Culture provides a comprehensive view of American and European popular entertainment in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, as well as some materials dating as early as 1779. A wide variety of topics are explored including Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic; Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks; Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment; Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments and the Advent of Cinema. The research experience is enhanced with an Interactive Chronology, A quick-reference glossary with Biographies of key figures and descriptions of key Venues, and a visually striking Images Gallery.

This OSU Trial runs through 3/31/2017
  • Open access
  • Full text access available
New
The Western Waters Digital Library provides free public access to a wide range of key archival holdings related to water policy and environmental history in the western United States from 29 participating institutes and libraries. Available resources include classic water literature, legal transcripts, maps, reports, personal papers, water project records, photographs, audio recordings, videos and other material.
  • Must login with ONID to access
Trial
World’s Fairs covers the history and modern influence of these massive events. Other topics covered include the proliferation of North American exhibitions and fairs around the world as well as the rise of twenty-first century expos. Access to official records, monographs, personal accounts, ephemera, publicity, artwork and artifacts will provide in-depth insight into the World’s Fair phenomenon. A Visual Highlights Gallery and the 360 Objects Gallery provide vivid visual representation of many aspects of each World’s Fair event.

This OSU Trial runs through 3/31/2017
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...