This is the "Webinars" page of the "Ecampus Library Webinars" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Ecampus Library Webinars   Tags: ecampus webinars  

Webinars for Ecampus and remote students and instructors who want to learn more about the OSU Libraries and doing library research at a distance. The webinars are offered live and recorded for later viewing.
Last Updated: Jan 6, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.oregonstate.edu/Ecampus_Library_Webinars Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Webinars Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ecampus Library Webinars

Who are the webinars for?

Ecampus Library Webinars are for students enrolled in Ecampus courses. If you can't come to campus or don't come very often, these webinars are for you. I will provide you with information about the library, what services we offer to our off-campus students, and some specific topics such as citing sources or searching for journals. Please check the schedule since the offerings will vary from quarter to quarter.

How do I participate?

We will use web conferencing software for these synchronous webinars. You don't need any special equipment, just a computer and Internet access. Prior to the webinar, I will send you the log in information you need.

What if I can't make it to a webinar?

I record these sessions so you can go back and listen to them again or, if you can't attend, you can listen to the webinar at your convenience. I will send the link out to people who registered.

How do I register?

Click on the title of the webinar to go to the registration form. Please be sure to include your email address so I can send you the log in instructions for the webinar

Who do I contact if I have questions?

Stefanie Buck
Ecampus Librarian
Oregon State University
stefanie.buck@oregonstate.edu
(541) 737-7273

 

Ecampus Library Webinars Fall 2013

Introduction to the Library (90 minutes)

Are you doing a research paper this quarter and don’t know where to start? Working on your thesis? Are you new to OSU? Did your professor say you need to use “credible sources”? Want to know more about the library in general?

If you answered yes to any of these questions, then this webinar is for you. Join me for a 90 minute webinar that gets you into the library and finding the information you need to be successful in your studies.  Many Ecampus students have said they wished they had known about the library sooner in their studies and this is your chance. Learn what resources the library has, how to search for books and journal articles, how to get books and journal articles delivered to you, and how to use Google Scholar in conjunction with the library resources.


Database Power Searching (60 minutes)

Do you want to search the online databases more effectively? Tired of just the same old keyword searching? Do you want to be a “power user”?

This webinar is all about effective database searching. Searching a database takes time and some planning but it does not have to be terribly difficult. Find out about choosing an appropriate database, discovering key words, using database tools such as subject headings to help make your search more relevant, and other top secret librarian search tricks.



Using one good source to find another (60 minutes)

You're looking for articles on a topic but you need some more. That one article can be a great source for finding more articles. Not only can you use the sources cited in the article, you can also find out who cited the article. There are many trails to follow. This webinar will show you the way!


Citing Your Sources using APA 6th edition (90 minutes)

Do you use citation management software like EndNote or Zotero or those built into the databases? Even though you can automatically generate a bibliography pretty easily these days, it does not mean it will be correct. Citation management programs make plenty of mistakes and you need to be able to spot them and correct them. This webinar is all about the American psychological Association style manual (6th edition) and how to cite your sources correctly and spot those errors that can lose you points on your paper.


 Keeping track of your research (60 minutes)

You are working on many projects and papers and it’s all getting a little bit overwhelming. Instead of using scraps of paper, let technology help you manage your research. How do you keep track of all those articles and books and web pages you found? This webinar will show you how to use the databases to keep track and introduce you to some citation management software.


Librarian

Profile Image
Stefanie Buck
Contact Info
Office Hours: By Appointment (Please email or call 541-737-7273)
Office Location: The Valley Library
Send Email
 

Undergraduate Research Workshps Videos

The Undergraduate Research Workshops are held on campus to help students develop their research skills. Three of the workshops have been recorded so you can view them any time.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip