Skip to main content

Library Assessment Report 2013-2014: Introduction

Introduction

Library Assessment Report 2013-2014

Prepared by:

Rick Stoddart  - Assessment Librarian

On behalf of:

Oregon State University Libraries and Press

The report covers July 2013-June 2014

Statistics reported are from FY13 ACRL Survey

OSU Libraries and Press

The OSU Libraries and Press

In 2013-2014, The OSU Libraries and Press served 21,084 full-time students and 945 instructional faculty[i] with library resources, research collections, and learning spaces.  The OSU Libraries holds 4,895,497 titles including 67,752 eBooks[ii], over 1,100 archival collections, and provides access to over 360 research online databases

In 2013-2014, the Valley Library had an FY13 gate count of 1,318,357  and circulated 178,957 items[iii].  The library had 23,282 reference questions and held 473 instruction sessions and workshops for over 9,983 students, faculty, and staff. Library research databases saw 2,545,933 searches and delivered 2,039,697 full-text article requests to patrons[iv].

The OSU Press published 19 books and held 130 author events in 2013-14.

The Oregon State University Libraries and Press (OSULP) consists of:

·      The Valley Library on the main OSU campus

·      The Marilyn Potts Guin Library at the OSU Hatfield Marine Science Center in Newport, Oregon.

·      The OSU Cascades Library as part of the shared Central Oregon Community College campus in Bend, Oregon

·      The Oregon State University Press

The OSU Libraries and Press is made up of these departments:

·      Library Administration Management & Planning (LAMP)

·      Center for Digital Scholarship and Services (CDSS)

·      Teaching and Engagement Department (TED)

·      Emerging Technologies and Services (ETS)

·      Collection and Resource Sharing Department (CRSD)

·      Special Collections and Archives Research Center (SCARC)

·      Guin Library / Cascades Campus

·      OSU Press



[ii] 2012-2013 ACRL Statistics for OSU Libraries

[iv] 2012-2013 ACRL Statistics for OSU Libraries

OSU Libraries and Press

63,000 Electronic Journals

24/5 Hours

#1 Place to Study